We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight delight ”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We booked our room effortlessly on Booking.com. On arrrival we got a friendly greeting. Plenty of parking and on our return in the evening we were able to have a special park when the car parking was full. On our departure we were allowed to keep our park for an hour while we had brunch. Much appreciated. The room was spotlessly clean and perfect for an overnight stay. The location is fantastic with the sea to one side and shops and cafes to the other. Highly recommend this place for a decently priced, well located and spotless room. My only gripe would be the towels weren’t plush but the bed linen was luxurious and nice soft pillows and comfy beds.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank DonnaHewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2017

What a pleasure to stay at this hotel!. Lovely staff- from check-in staff to cleaners and restaurant staff. All so friendly and helpful. It's a small hotel so you never feel overlooked. The location is brilliant - a quick walk to the center plus located right next to the coastal walkway, the Len Lye wind wand and the museum. And what a fabulous restaurant. Superb food and professional wait staff. A very comfortable and clean room with a great view up the coast (room 306). Loved it all.

Room Tip: It's a small pretty quiet city. When we had the balcony door open we could hear a bit of traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

My first visit to New Plymouth, perfectly two nights stay in this hotel, surprisingly got little balcony so I can step outside for street view and a bit ocean view. The front desk service were very helpful & friendly, special thanks to Richard, well done!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Wendy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Staff professional and friendly. Great to have the superb Salt restaurant on my same floor. Room large. King sized bed. Light clean modern. Central to everything and right on the waterfront.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank 493Nicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Very nice room. Very clean. Comfortable bed. Nice decor. Very handy to the Main Street. Lots of cafés/restaurants in walking distance. Undercover parking. Rates on internet were less than Rates advertised at the Front desk. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NthShoreTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
344 reviews
1.4 km away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
255 reviews
1.7 km away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
181 reviews
0.3 km away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
1.3 km away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range: ₹ 7,389 - ₹ 22,484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth
The Waterfront New Plymouth, Taranaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing