We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok - but not somewhere I would stay again”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok - but not somewhere I would stay again”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Waterfront Hotel as it was the collection & dropoff point for shuttles to the wedding we were attending. Although the hotel was nice, well presented and clean, I found it to be overpriced for what it was. On arrival our room was stifling hot as the aircon hadn't been on - we ended up stripping down to our underwear while waiting for the aircon to kick in and sufficiently cool the room. Our room had no view which was ok because I wasn't really expecting one, but we still heard the trucks thundering past to the port at all hours of the day and night. Also, the bed was very much on the 'firm' side of the spectrum. The only big 'thumbs up' was the free parking available on a first in, best served basis. All up, not a bad stay for our purposes, but not somewhere I would choose to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa_in_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
We at The Waterfront Hotel are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We do strive to be an energy efficient Hotel and part of this is conserving energy usage. The weather has been very hot in Taranaki. We can chill rooms on request if asked to do so and if we know your time of arrival.
It was unfortunate that there was a large container ship in at the port that day and on a weekend which is not the norm, hence alot of heavy vehicle traffic along the waterfront.
We were so happy for your group as the weather was brilliant for the wedding.
We apologise sincerely for the traffic noise that you experianced on the night of the wedding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    82
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
25
110
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Merricks
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Thie hotel is well located facing the sea with the beautiful Coastal Walkway right in front of it. It's Salt Restauarnt is great with good food and service plus a coffee and drinks area open all day. However the accommodation is not up to par with it's restaurant and location. Do not be fooled when they say that they have suites in the hotel. We booked a suite and what we had was a room much like all other rooms that you get in hotels round the world. You walk in, there bathroom is on the left, the cupboards on the right, then there is the bed with a desk on the opposite side and then the windows with two chairs before it. It doesn't qualify as a suite by any stretch of the imagination. On checking in we asked for a suite and were told that the penthouse suite would be available the next day. Insaid i would take t the next day. When I asked forthe suite the nect day, it wasn't availble as they sold it the night before. Then there is is poor Internet in the rooms. It is not free and 24 hours cost $29.90 which is what we paid.
The internet was intermitten. The connection dropped out every half hour or so and then terminated after about 20 hours. If you are using the Internet for business purpose, it can
be very frustrating.

Room Tip: Ensure that if you have booked for a suite, it actually has a separate sitting area to the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandoraOfMerricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
We at the Waterfront Hotel are sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory, we take each guests feedback very seriously

I have checked your reservation and you have confirmed a Deluxe Studio for your booking not a suite.
We did sell the large suite after you enquired about it, we were very busy that day and you had only asked for a quote on the room and had not booked it.
Our internet is really good considering the speed NZ has, The issue with your room was that you had networked an Iphone and two laptops to your connection which our system
does not like and it kept cutting out, we did explain to you that it was not acceptable and offered another room free of charge to use the internet connection . We also offer each guest 1 hours free wireless internet each day of their stay.
We do pride ourselves on trying to meet all guests needs and expectations and are sorry we did not this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stayed here to treat the missus on a Saturday night of course we hit town late hours very close to town so was a breeze walking home.the only thing I was broke after it limited beers were brought uptown but all round good stay

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobymaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed at The Waterfront as a stop on our honeymoon. New Plymouth is certainly worth a stop. Very interesting City with plenty to do. The Waterfront could be spectacular, but "just OK" service and average room appointment could be approved upon. Room views are hit and miss, try to get a room on the 3rd foor, near the front of the hotel so you have a view of the sea, just yards away. The wind wand across the street, museum next door can provide hours of entertainment.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRAE151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Beautiful Hotel & Location
Friendly staff who make the effort to sort any matter or problem out
Room interior is warm and inviting
Great Breakfast

Room Tip: Use the internet first then call them to get the best available room rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberia_302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
299 reviews
1.4 km away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
209 reviews
0.7 km away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
5.5 km away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
281 reviews
1.3 km away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,375 - ₹ 11,063
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth
The Waterfront New Plymouth, Taranaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing