We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to the Cheeky Tui!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the Cheeky Tui!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Welcome to the Cheeky Tui!
Kitchen and DIning area (panorama photo)
The free use of two kayaks (dog not included though!)
Why not catch one of the local buses!
Just 5 mins walk to the lake
The beautiful lake Tarawera 5 mins walk away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Rotorua, Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lloydsboy...
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This place is home away from home, comfortable beds and sofa, BBQ and dishwasher, all very clean, ideal for complete relaxation. would recommend to anyone. we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort
Liked least: small bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua District, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
elliegray...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely large lakeside holiday cabin in glorious location”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at The Cheeky Tui, Lake Tarawera with our son, daughter in law and grandsons aged 7 and nearly 4. We had a terrific time. The location is outstanding and we actually preferred Lake Tarawera and its environs to Rotorua. The owners were extremely helpful and knowledgable about things to do, places to see and eat, local shops etc. The cabin is basic but has everything you need for a relaxing break. For the kids it was ideal because there were swings, slides and a trampoline for them to play on in the garden as well as lots of games, puzzles and books inside. We took kayaks supplied by the owners out on the lake and really enjoyed the recommendations they made about activities like the hot springs. My husband and I got up early to greet the dawn chorus of birds featuring the rare Bell bird and of course, cheeky Tui. There were many Fantails and Silvereyes in the garden too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Condensation on the inside of windows and doors
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabbaRank...
Nottingham, England
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in great location”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at the Cheeky Tui. A great property set near the beautiful Lake Tarawera. This is a really great cabin with decent sized bedrooms and ideal for children as not only was there a little play area in the garden but the owners have left some great toys inside too. Great value for money. We took over the Cheeky Tui (5 adults and 1 toddler) and also had family staying in the Fidgety Fantail at the bottom of the drive which was ideal for sharing some quality time together. Didn't get chance to use the kayaks and bicycles but think it's great that they're available to be used. The cabin is in the middle of nowhere so everywhere has to be accessed via a car but this is no hardship but do take things with you re food (there was milk, wine, tea and coffee on arrival). The view of the stars was beautiful on a clear night with no light pollution. Would definitely stay here again as a good base for the area including Rotorua. Very helpful and friendly owners too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, living space and quirkiness
Liked least: Shower pressure was low but this was explained by the owner and awaiting plumber
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2013
Thank you Claire, it is lovely to share what we think of a little piece of paradise in NZ. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday here in NZ & had a safe journey back to the UK! Kind regards, Caroline & Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing