We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some tiny issues but overall pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We travelled to Rotorua on an whim so we didn’t have a booking or knew anything about the hotels in the area. We saw Regal Palms and we thought it looked nice so we decided to stay for a couple of nights. We really enjoyed the place. Yes, as other reviewers have mentioned, it obviously used to be a motor lodge, but so what? It was very nicely polished and the rooms were of a very good standard. Far better, nicer, cleaner, etc than any motor lodge I’ve stayed at.

Some minor issues, the pool could do with a bit of a revamp – some tiles chipped/missing, and on close inspection, pool looks a bit tired. Same with the mini-golf court (would be nice if they would remove all the broken putts). Also, the woman at reception that checked us in was a bit.. bland for a lack of a better word. Not really smiling or happy that we decided to stay with them and $400 in their pocket. But the gentleman that handled our checkout was great! Very friendly and helpful.

So despite some tiny hiccups, overall still a good place. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanaGSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross M, Manager at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated. In response to the issues you mention we had the pool contractor here early summer to address the problems you have noted - we are actually going to resurface the whole pool and add new tiles where needed but because the pool will be out of action for at least two weeks we decided to book the job for mid March, hoping to inconvenience fewer guests at that time of year
As for the mini golf we have laid new outdoor carpet just 12 months ago so I presume you mean the actual putters themselves which do get a hammering during the holiday season and are replaced regularly
I have been in this industry over 15 years now and I must say the owners here at Regal Palms are more committed to maintaining/upgrading their property than anyone else we have worked for
Thanks again
Regards
Ross - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 342 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

Overall fantastic alpenhorn a little pricey for the 2 bedroom apartment

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony3136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the well presented rooms and facilities, reception closes at 9pm, which can be a little annoying, but overall it was a good experience, the beds are very good too!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Very well presented and clean rooms.
Air-conditioning and beautiful large bathroom and spa.
No free internet is one main downside and no self contained laundry.
Excellent amenities for families and office staff were very knowledgeable and helpful.
30 minute walk to main center is very pleasant on the boulevard.
Recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VICTEETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Thank you to the honest and diligent staff: Ross, Annie, Carol & Housekeeping! Your diligence at searching for (and finding!) our lost camera “smart card” is so appreciated. It contained almost 2 weeks worth of vacation pics in New Zealand. I called Ross after we had arrived home to the U.S. and they were concerned enough to search for, find, and mail home to us the small “smart card”.
This clean, modern hotel was perfect for our family. Pool is very nice, great outdoor barbecue under covered picnic area with tables, etc. It is not within walking distance of downtown Rotorua, but we had a rental car, so it was perfectly situated for us! Highly, highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a family of 4 or 5, the 2-bedroom apartment has a kitchen, a roomy living room and a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mockingbird45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.0 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
2.6 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
0.3 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.7 km away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort

Address: 350 Fenton Street | Corner Ward Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Regal Palms Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: ₹ 9,046 - ₹ 14,474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REGAL PALMS AND THE ART of HOSPITALITY Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua - New Zealand's geothermal wonderland. Here you'll find a great range of high quality accommodation options, exceptional facilities and unsurpassed hospitality. Luxury Rotorua Accommodation: Our modern and well-equipped range of superior suites and apartments make an ideal Rotorua accommodation option for couples, families, corporates and groups. Every suite and apartment has a great range of features, including a luxurious spa pool - perfect to sink into at the end of the day. Superb on-site Facilities: Be sure to make the most of the exceptional on-site facilities at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort. Whether you want to relax with a drink in the cosy Guest Lounge, or you're up for something more active on the tennis court, in our heated swimming pool or on one of our free bicycles exploring the city - there's something for everyone here! Conference Facilities: Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is the perfect location for your upcoming business meeting or conference. We have a range of conference packages to suit all small meetings (up to 20 persons) Packages & Promotions: Check out our Rotorua accommodation packages and promotions to make sure you're getting the best deal when you stay with us! True Kiwi Hospitality At Regal Palms, we understand that hospitality is an art that embraces service, attitude and respect for the individual needs of every guest - you can expect the same high level of customer service every time you stay with us. Warm Regards, Ross, Annie and the team at Regal Palms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Palms 5 Star City Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing