We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,353)
Filter reviews
1,353 results
Traveller rating
330
470
295
142
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
470
295
142
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrace courserace trackspa bathmezz baratrium restaurantbuffet breakfastbalcony overlookingindoor poolhuge roomtop floortwo queen bedsschool holidaysbit datednew zealandracecourse
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 1,353 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We wanted accommodation with an in room spa which we got. Initially our room was too far to get the WiFi & also the TV wasn't working. They bought a new TV down but shortly after we were moved to a different room. The breakfast buffet was good & the staff helpful just the rooms are looking a bit old.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank M_S_Flett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear M_S_Flett,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us. I’m glad that our breakfast and staff service suited your needs for the stay. Meanwhile, we are truly regretful that some of the elements in our hotel did not meet your expectation. Your feedback regarding TV and Wifi has been well-noted for necessary improvements.


Kind Regards

Christine Chen
Front Office Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

If you are looking a place to spend your nights, this hotel does the job. Situated a bit outside of the town, but you can easily walk there. Rooms were big and clean and there is a free car park behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readyforadventur2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear readyforadventur2017,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback. We are glad that that you have enjoyed our overall services and facilities during the recent stay with us.

We truly appreciate your support and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Christine Chen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Fairly nondescript hotel approximately a 20 minute walk to downtown. Basically this is a pretty boring place to stay. Second floor has a bar with happy hour from 5-7. Had dinner here the first night which was ok but the service is extremely slow. Buffet breakfast is ok but nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: If you are looking for something with character look elsewhere.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Kevin L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.


Kind Regards

Christine Chen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

This place is very tired. The room we were given had a lovely view of the arched lobby roof , there were holes in the walls and it had an extra gross disability bathroom with black mould all over the shower head. The toilet seat was extra high - I had to help my kids get on to it!!! Confronted with a room like this I would usually complain and ask for a better room, but we were only staying one night and to be honest I don't think this hotel would have any nicer rooms! I definitely won't be staying at Rydges Rotorua again unless it goes through some well needed upgrades.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kattherat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Kattherat,


Thank you for staying with us and sharing your valuable review with us. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We have taken noted of your comments for necessary improvements.

Once again, we greatly appreciate your comments that help us improve.

Kind Regards

Christine Chen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We have stayed here several times and the rooms are showing signs of wear. They do need some renovation in order to compete with other types of accommodation in the Rotorua area. However, the bed was comfortable and the dining room chairs have been replaced since our last visit. The shower door was loose and kept leaning and there were light bulbs not working. It would be good to have maintenance personnel check the rooms on a routine basis. The pool has been out of order for some time. Is it actually being repaired?

Room Tip: The higher floors do seem less noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kej5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Kej5,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback. We truly appreciate your support and coming back our hotel.
We are disappointed and rather concerned to hear about the room maintenance issues you have raised above. We do place great value to each and every guest's staying experience. Kindly rest assured that we will internally discuss with our maintenance for necessary actions to improve.


We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!


Kind Regards

Christine Chen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews