We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,372)
Filter reviews
1,372 results
Traveller rating
331
479
298
146
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
479
298
146
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews race course race track spa bath mezz bar atrium restaurant buffet breakfast balcony overlooking indoor pool huge room top floor two queen beds school holidays bit dated new zealand racecourse
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 1,372 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

A large number of our family and friends stayed here for one night for a family function nearby. The hotel foyer and lobby area is well maintained but that's where it stops. The curtains in our room were falling apart (so we didn't close them for fear they would blame us), there were paintings missing from the walls, the décor is super dated and the hotel is in desperate need of a revamp. On check in we were asked for a credit card to use as a hold for $1, but we only had a debit card, of which they take $100 (and don't tell you about prior). Breakfast the next morning mostly everything ran out and wasn't replaced for a long period of time. Your money would be better spent at a motel down the road, rather than to stay at this place only for the name. I also contacted the hotel directly about our stay prior to this review - all of our complaints went unresolved.

Room Tip: Chose a room at another motel nearby!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Mel P

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are disappointed and rather concerned to hear about the unpleasant issues and we have taken noted of your comments and are concerned about the service issues you have raised. We do place great value to each and every guest's staying experience. Kindly rest assured that we will internally discuss with our teams for necessary actions to improve.

Kind Regards

Christine Chen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This hotel is on the far end of Fenton Street from the town centre so a good 10 dollar taxi ride if you go out (the buses are hourly) but a lovely location overlooking the Racecourse (we saw some horses training in the mornings) . Lovely big room with kitchen area and dining table and chairs but only 1 armchair - plenty of room for another one to be added. Decent bathroom. We had a balcony and also a separate (inside) balcony area with a jacuzzi but anybody who knows Rotorua knows there is a permanent smell from the thermal mud pools and guysers, so a strong stomach is needed to use either of these facilities. Shame! Decent breakfast in the Atrium restaurant.

Room Tip: We had 310 overlooking the Racecourse
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Linda S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment.

We are truly delighted to know that you have enjoyed our overall services and facilities during the recent stay with us.

We truly appreciate your support and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Christine Chen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

This Hotel should close its doors and do a massive renovation and get on top of the myriad of services 'Out of Order'. The phase applied to so much as well as an attitude of 'No care for occupants staying'! We took our Grandsons for a special weekend in Rotorua. Sadly chose Ridges Hotel as it was historically known as a fine Hotel, however, the pool (a key attraction for Grandsons, was OUT OF ORDER, the curtains were all ripped in our room, the fans didn't work, the place was like an oven, and the final insult was they had a Wedding under our room with heavy bass band booming and vibrating our room from 8.30pm until husband lost the plot and gave the their pedigree at 11pm when all four of us had given up trying to sleep. A truly terrible Hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 82annieed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to pass on some feedback from your stay. I apologise that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Your comments are valuable to the hotel and I will ensure that every aspect of your feedback is followed up and learned from to ensure future guests do not have the same experience.
Thank you again for your comments. I trust you and your family had a safe trip home after your stay.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights the rooms are large with two king size beds but that's best of it.
Built in the 1990 but hasn't been renovated since the decor is tied chipped and the bathroom held together with silicon, the ceiling had black marks all over it and sagging from a previous leak upstairs.
The staff where friendly and tried to make the best of it. A lick of paint and a new vanity and this could be so much better.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank jasono818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 October 2017

Dear jasono818,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comment with us. We are disappointed about these issues you have raised above. We have taken noted of your comments for necessary improvements.

We sincerely hope to have a chance to serve you again.

Kind Regards


Christine Chen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We had purposely booked this accommodation due to it having a hot pool.. turns out that they got rid of the pool early this year. Was disappointing that they are still advertising their hotel as offering that when it's not available. The entire hotel was sizzling! It was sooooo hot that it was hard to sleep. Cleanliness could do with a bit of work and the hotel itself is dated. Was still a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Caitvandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 October 2017

Dear Caitlin,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. Regarding swimming pool, unfortunately the pool closure is out of our control and we have had to close it for urgent maintenance repairs. We do understand that this is an inconvenience and for this reason we had removed all reference to our pool from our website and all third parties website at the end of April. We would like to apologies again for the inconvenience caused by this.

Kind Regards

Christine Chen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews