We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms with good size sink and fridge make it good for families”
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #48 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Large rooms with good size sink and fridge make it good for families. Pool upstairs is great. Hotel is still a bit dated even after some new carpet and paint. Not as well soundproofed as other places, so my screaming kids probably annoyed others! (well prior to 7pm after which they were sound asleep).

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzregs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig_r_simpson, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Hi there,

Your right they are great rooms for families. Nice and big. Heaps of space. Don't worry to much about the kids making noise - I am sure they were just excited to be on holiday.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Cheers,

Craig
Craig Simpson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,006 - 1,010 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed for one night on 2 Jan 2012 and wished from the moment I walked through the door I stayed elsewhere. This hotel is in dire need of repair. The room did not have a working shower!!! Air-con was useless and TV remote didn't work. No offer of discount, not apologies on exit. Yes the room was large, but the large stains on the carpet detracted from this. Horrendous internet prices $8.00 for half an hour in the lobby (the accommodation I stayed in the next night had high speed wireless for $2.00 an hour). The front counter staff need to look up 'service' in the dictionary, not to mention that their suit jackets were two to three sizes to large and looked ridiculous. This hotel needs to be reviewed again for it's star rating, does not deserve it's current rating.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nikki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Hi there, dissappointed to read that from the moment you walked in you wanted to go somewhere else, not what we aim for at all so that is some-thing that the Front-line team will definately be working on.

I have spoken to both House-keeping and Maintenance in regards to your rooms comments and they are curently working on these issues, whilst the GM is currently in negotiations with our internet provider to sharpen up the rate.

Sorry to also read that the service levels where not great either, for that I must definately apologise.

Many thanks for the feedback

Jemmel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

the worst hotel service i have ever expericened, there was two workers that i was impressed with a young man called andrew, and a older Maori man (front of hose manager). the hotel is very run down and serice was poor there is no way that this place is a 4 and a half star one of our friends had a ant infestation in her room, my check time was an hour late, the indian front of house mamnger was very rude the late night staff (front of house were rude) customer service was very poor and it took all day for our room to be cleaned would never stay here again and wouldnt recommend it. i would recommend the distiction or the holiday inn

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paris471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night in mid-December. We redeemed a free night so I can't make any comment on value for money. The hotel was located about a 15 minute walk from the centre of town and was close to several supermarkets. The room was absolutely huge! It had a large super king sized bed and a separate spa bath area. Unfortunately, the views were unremarkable and over the neighbouring race course. There is a large thermally heated indoor pool and children's pool as well as a warm spa bath which is well worth a visit to. If anyone ever works out how to turn the spa bath at the pool on, please let me know. You'll enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rldot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig_r_simpson, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Hi there,

Thanks for your review. Pleased you enjoyed the rooms - as you say they are massive. Heaps of space. Always a bonus when traveling.

The pool upstairs is fantastic isn't it. The best part is you can use it all year around as its indoors.

I appreciate the great feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Craig
Craig Simpson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This is a cavernous, uninspiring hotel with no atmosphere or spirit. It is a people warehouse with large rooms (it's only redeeming factor) but little else. Swingeing charges for wi fi access and breakfast (avoid the breakfast as it was a disgrace, one had to pay an extra three quid for a hot chocolate!). Wafer thin cheap ham and processed cheese were the highlights! Pleasant staff though, battling against a hotel group that needs to do more than simply provide a roof over the customers head.it needs to be dragged out of the eighties and given a thorough makeover especially in terms of injecting some life into the place.
Guy

Room Tip: Better staying in a motel than This warehouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
1.2 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
1.8 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
444 reviews
1.1 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.9 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#36 of 92 in Rotorua
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: ₹ 6,320 - ₹ 18,698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing