We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,353)
Filter reviews
1,353 results
Traveller rating
330
470
295
142
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
470
295
142
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrace courserace trackspa bathmezz baratrium restaurantbuffet breakfastbalcony overlookingindoor poolhuge roomtop floortwo queen bedsschool holidaysbit datednew zealandracecourse
Filter
Updating list...
1,118 - 1,123 of 1,353 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed for one night on 2 Jan 2012 and wished from the moment I walked through the door I stayed elsewhere. This hotel is in dire need of repair. The room did not have a working shower!!! Air-con was useless and TV remote didn't work. No offer of discount, not apologies on exit. Yes the room was large, but the large stains on the carpet detracted from this. Horrendous internet prices $8.00 for half an hour in the lobby (the accommodation I stayed in the next night had high speed wireless for $2.00 an hour). The front counter staff need to look up 'service' in the dictionary, not to mention that their suit jackets were two to three sizes to large and looked ridiculous. This hotel needs to be reviewed again for it's star rating, does not deserve it's current rating.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nikki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Hi there, dissappointed to read that from the moment you walked in you wanted to go somewhere else, not what we aim for at all so that is some-thing that the Front-line team will definately be working on.

I have spoken to both House-keeping and Maintenance in regards to your rooms comments and they are curently working on these issues, whilst the GM is currently in negotiations with our internet provider to sharpen up the rate.

Sorry to also read that the service levels where not great either, for that I must definately apologise.

Many thanks for the feedback

Jemmel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

the worst hotel service i have ever expericened, there was two workers that i was impressed with a young man called andrew, and a older Maori man (front of hose manager). the hotel is very run down and serice was poor there is no way that this place is a 4 and a half star one of our friends had a ant infestation in her room, my check time was an hour late, the indian front of house mamnger was very rude the late night staff (front of house were rude) customer service was very poor and it took all day for our room to be cleaned would never stay here again and wouldnt recommend it. i would recommend the distiction or the holiday inn

Room Tip: dont stay here
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paris471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night in mid-December. We redeemed a free night so I can't make any comment on value for money. The hotel was located about a 15 minute walk from the centre of town and was close to several supermarkets. The room was absolutely huge! It had a large super king sized bed and a separate spa bath area. Unfortunately, the views were unremarkable and over the neighbouring race course. There is a large thermally heated indoor pool and children's pool as well as a warm spa bath which is well worth a visit to. If anyone ever works out how to turn the spa bath at the pool on, please let me know. You'll enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rldot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig_r_simpson, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Hi there,

Thanks for your review. Pleased you enjoyed the rooms - as you say they are massive. Heaps of space. Always a bonus when traveling.

The pool upstairs is fantastic isn't it. The best part is you can use it all year around as its indoors.

I appreciate the great feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Craig
Craig Simpson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This is a cavernous, uninspiring hotel with no atmosphere or spirit. It is a people warehouse with large rooms (it's only redeeming factor) but little else. Swingeing charges for wi fi access and breakfast (avoid the breakfast as it was a disgrace, one had to pay an extra three quid for a hot chocolate!). Wafer thin cheap ham and processed cheese were the highlights! Pleasant staff though, battling against a hotel group that needs to do more than simply provide a roof over the customers head.it needs to be dragged out of the eighties and given a thorough makeover especially in terms of injecting some life into the place.
Guy

Room Tip: Better staying in a motel than This warehouse.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

The rooms are quite big. The decor is very tired. The walls are painted a cream colour and although they are fairly clean they look dirty due to the discoloration caused by their age. The trim around the carpet looks like it has not been painted for twenty years. The mixer on the spa bath is rusty. There is what looks like a build up of soap scum on the tiles in the shower.

There is no air conditioning in the room - just a ceiling fan. This means you'll not need much of the supplied bedding when sleeping.

The room is really more like what you'd expecting to find in a cheap motel. Sure there are the compliment of services you expect from a four-star hotel but the product needs refreshing.

Rotorua is a tourist town and there are hundreds of places to stay. My recommendation is to try somewhere else - the product here just is not good enough for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrYellowDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews