We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Nearby Hotels
US$ 109
US$ 97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$ 118
US$ 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 139
US$ 121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$ 88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$ 90
US$ 74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$ 97
US$ 94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Emerald Spa Motor Inn(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$ 127
US$ 117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$ 178
US$ 133
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
38
90
110
65
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
90
110
65
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour starrestaurant staffrefurbishingmaorispas
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2012

...because this cover is hiding the truth....

The reception and restaurant areas are immaculate and modern looking, but soon as you step through the doors to the main hotel, thats where it ends - youve entered a doorway into the 80's.

It is very dated, the standard room we booked had holes and stains in the carpet, mismatched lighting (some yellow bulbs, some white). The bathroom has been modernised a little with a new looking toilet and hand basin but the shower/bath were obviously from the original installation - the showerhead sprayed water every which way, and the tap for the bath had a large gap between it and the wall, crudely sealed with "no more gaps".

The balcony felt like it was an afterthought and the planks had no support under them, so I wouldnt want more than 2 people on it at a time. The sliding door to the balcony was extremely noisy to open (we could hear other people opening theirs all the time as well).

When we entered the room it felt like a sauna, the heating was turned all the way up and being an ancient system, we had no control over it and had to request it to be turned off. The ceiling fan only assisted a little in trying to cool the room during our stay.

But everything worked, and the beds comfortable.

Things to watch for in the standard rooms is that there is no internet (not that I could find) and the door is easily opened by children unless you remember to put the chain on.

Internet access is a joke, none in our room, and if you wanted to use the "free" wifi, it was only available in the reception area and only gave you 20mins or 20mb (whichever came first) in a single session each day - so you couldnt use 10mins, then come back later that day. If you wanted more, you paid by handing over your first born - in this day of free wifi at the local cafe, a large hotel should be able to offer something better.

The outdoor heated pool was pleasant, the spas however were dated as well and needed some tidying up.

In our booking costs, we had buffet breakfasts included - these were absolutely amazing, and were a huge saving grace for the hotel.

The staff were extremely friendly and prompt to action anything we requested (including rescuing my family from the lift that broke down), so cannot fault their customer service.

If Millenium spent some money on the standard rooms, and kept the pricing the same, I think theyd find themselves booked a lot more....

Will we be back ? 50/50....

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XPDNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Thank you kindly for your review. Any form of feedback is a tool for our company to enhance on and to identify areas that do concern our guests. I was pleased to hear our customer service exceeded your needs it is always welcomed by our guests. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This property desperately needs exterior and interior refurbishment. Housekeeping staff do a fabulous job with what they have to work with. Evening restaurant staff lacking confidence but very friendly and accommodating - meals and drinks adequate. Morning breakfast crew excellent. Best breakfast buffet in hotel restaurant for quite some time - thanked chef. Great office centre - used email facility and took advantage of printing service. Housekeeping supervisor extremely grateful for our feedback.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahatoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Thank you for your constructive review. We do realise our property is aged and we are in the near future planning a mini refurbishment to freshen our standard rooms. I was pleased to hear our customer service exceeded your needs as this is a service we pride ourselves on. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed one night and it was terrible. Beds have lost their spring, shower was horrible, tv reception was fuzzing, furniture and fittings are old, exterior of building is so run down that I thought I was staying at a run down pub. I paid $110 per night and the standard is below average. Motels across the road would have provided better hospitality. NOT RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janeyemma888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Thank you for your review. We are in the not so distant future planning a mini refurbishment of our standard rooms. Your comments are appreciated and a positive tool for us to improve on. I offer my apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay. Should you wish to stay again please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We did enjoy our stay but the staff didn't seem to have all the details right. We were suppose to get complimentry drinks and chocolates on arrival. We were given vouchers for the drinks and it looked like one of the staff shot down to the local shop and brought a pack of Whitkers Peanut Slabs and brought this to our room. If you wanted fresh milk as per the conpemdium you had to ask for it. When we did we were given a bit of a run around and it finally arrived. Over all it was a resonable stay but all that is needed is for the staff to bejust a fraction more frindly and pay attention to the little details and this would be a great place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you for your feedback. The areas that did not quite meet your standards have been addressed with department heads. Your comments are a tool we can build on which are invaluable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We only stayed a few nights here on route from Auckland to Wellington. We made a slight detour as we wanted to experience the tourist part of our holiday in New Zealand as the rest of the time would be spent visiting relations. The staff in the hotel were very friendly, extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. The hotel is fairly central and is located on one of the main town roads although it is very quiet and peaceful. It is only a short walk away from the many restaurants and shops in Rotorua. A multitude of tourist attractions are nearby.and easily accessible. Tours to certain attractions can be booked and the transport will pick you up from the hotel - very convenient. Whilst speaking to relatives' friends later, this is definitely the hotel that the locals prefer to stay in whilst visiting Rotorua and you can't get a better recommendation that that.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaB465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you for your generous feedback. Always pleased to hear we have exceeded our service standards. Your comments have been passed onto departments as a service well delivered. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews