We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
SKamat
Vasco da Gama, India

"Location at the cost of smell"

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Jan 2013
Excellent property, avoid the the rooms in the old wing. Great location, get used to the smell of sulphur as soon as possible or you wouldnt enjoy your stay in this city. We stayed here for 3 days and had an excellent stay and got a good deal on the rooms as well. Very close to the city center and yet so peaceful and quiet. The restaurant has a limited menu to choose from, but the restaurants in the city are awesome. On the whole it was a great break for us and we had an excellent stay.
Date of stay: November 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₹15,086
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹15,086
1.4 km from Sudima Lake Rotorua
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹11,910
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹11,910
0.7 km from Sudima Lake Rotorua
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
₹12,216
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Novotel
    ₹12,195
1.0 km from Sudima Lake Rotorua
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    ₹8,981
  • Expedia.com
    ₹9,536
0.8 km from Sudima Lake Rotorua
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    ₹6,056
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Sudima Lake Rotorua
Free Wifi
Free parking
Large Studio
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹5,905
  • Priceline
    ₹6,034
1.6 km from Sudima Lake Rotorua
Free Wifi
Free parking
RZROTO Dexlue King Pool View
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    ₹8,874
  • Algotels
2.3 km from Sudima Lake Rotorua
Free Wifi
Free parking
En-Suite Log Cabins
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    ₹3,675
  • Algotels
2.9 km from Sudima Lake Rotorua
Free parking
Garden
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    ₹7,035
  • Algotels
11.9 km from Sudima Lake Rotorua
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
    ₹8,707
  • eDreams
  • StayForLong
4.5 km from Sudima Lake Rotorua
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Rotorua
Reviews (1,881)
Filter reviews
1,881 results
Traveller rating
346
715
528
191
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
346
715
528
191
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviews polynesian spa lake rotorua large hotel government gardens new zealand eat street supermarket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,428 - 1,433 of 1,881 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Cost us family of 4 less than $100 per night via booking.com!! Stoked as! Full air con, fully serviced room :) So close to town centre and some main attractions!! Kids loved the pool, as for the smell.... If you don't like it... Don't come to rotorua!

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigwhanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here for one night. We were able to book one room with two double beds for the 4 of us (2 adults/2children) which is quite a rarity and made it much more affordable. It was very basic and a bit tired but it did the job as it was for one night only. If I was staying for longer than one night in Rotorua I would probably book somewhere with better rooms and hotel facilities.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geonz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2013

If I could book a room in Rotorua again I wouldn't book it here. Word of advise, do not book any hotels near geothermal vents or sulfur geysers. If people tell you that you'll get used to the strong sulfur smell, they are lying. This hotel has a smelly sulfur geyser thing right next to the hotel and it STINKS! BAD!

The hotel itself is badly ventilated (not where the reception is) and has a very strong, weird smell. The rooms have no air-con, so when you open your window you do so at your own risk of the bad smell getting inside (depending which way the wind blows outside).

We stayed in a double queen bed room which was decent. The bathroom however is in bad shape, which I feel is a reflection on how well the hotel is cleaned. The shower head was old and disgusting which looked it hadn't been replaced in the last 40 years, same goes for the tiles.

Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere a bit further away from the geothermal craters, your nose and stomach will thank you for it.

Room tip: Rooms in the town center or near the lake away from the vapor.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redbowtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A Tripadvisor Member
Brighton, United Kingdom
913
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Great location, don't get the lame view rooms though as the smell of the sulphur is pretty strong and no air con in front rooms. We stayed in the back and it was great air con, fan no sulphur smells and quite quiet. Great spot for the town. Enjoyable stay, staff were a little uninformative, but for the price couldn't complain. 3 private spa pools geothermally heated bit heavy on the chemicals could of done with a bit of a clean, indoor pool bit dated but absolutely fine, kids enjoyed and the pool wasn't full of chems!

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A Tripadvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2013

If I could book a hotel again. I probably woulnt choose here. We we unhappy that there wasnt a fridge or air conditioning and it was summer too. Humidity in a room after being out all day wasnt great. Vending machine was not cold therefore did not purchase drinks from it. Go to pak n save n buy a drink from there. Breakfast a rip off at 25 nzd i suggest head to a local cafe or mcdonalds as a cheaper option.Deeply disappointed in the room. My husband I didn't share a bed for 3 nights. Supposed queen sized beds turned out to b a double. Sudima is on sulpher bay not lake rotarua as advertised. While enjoyed our time in rotarua I think the hotel across the road looked somewhat nicer. Pity it was booked out.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateandkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews