We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 192
US$ 173
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$ 135
US$ 108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$ 139
US$ 135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 115
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$ 67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Emerald Spa Motor Inn(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$ 124
US$ 114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$ 70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 386
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
296
15
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
15
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsricky martinshania twainnew zealandsurrounded by beautiful gardensbed and breakfastplaces to visitlake rotoruaother guestsstayed longerb and bwealth of knowledgebeautiful place to stayan easy drivenice breakfaststayed for one nightoverlooking the lakehome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Christine has created in her home a perfect slice of tranquility. Spectacular gardens, fabulous views, floor to ceiling windows, high thread count sheets, fresh flowers, delicious breakfasts......its all at Doolans! Christine herself is warm and welcoming! We highly recommend a stay in her beautiful home!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank xmoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This was our first stop in NZ from the UK and it set the bar incredibly high! From the agapanthus lining the drive on our arrival to our beautiful, luxurious double room, we were well and truly spoiled. Christine, the owner, was just lovely and helped us organise our tours, where to eat, what to visit. She also cooked incredible breakfasts (smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, yum) and was happy for us to share her gorgeous, enormous living room and patio. The views were beautiful, the rolling gardens sublime. A real slice of NZ heaven.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dineview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

This is a lovely spot! We were there with another couple and had a wonderful time. Christine is a perfect hostess, very attentive and eager to answer questions and helpful to make our stay fun and comfortable. We loved taking a long stroll around the property down to a fishing spot, seeing sheep and alpacas along the way. The dome shaped house has gorgeous view,s and the welcome pastries and breakfast were perfect. Thank you, Christine for making our stay so memorable and fun!! We hope to be back!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank solotraveler94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Doolans Country Retreat for only one evening but wished we could gave stayed longer. Christine made us so welcome into her beautiful home. On arrival We were made a cup of tea and we sat outside with some of the others guests chatting. Christine gave us lots of local information and ideas of places to visit and also where to go to enjoy good food.
On returning home in the evening we were able to help ourselves to tea/coffee etc.
Breakfast was lovely with lots of cereals/fresh fruit/jams & toast and a hot meal too. All delicious.
Should we ever be lucky enough to return to New Zealand for a third time we will definitely be in touch to stay at the beautiful tranquil Doolans Country Retreat. Thank you

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chrissie46-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

I highly recommend Doolan's Country Retreat! First of all, Christine was lovely, friendly, and accommodating. Her home was absolutely beautiful and comfortable. The views were amazing and the was food wonderful and the portions generous. Guests have a refrigerator (to share) in the kitchen area and there is always something yummy inside. Coffee and tea is always available. Christine took the time to tell us about the area and gave us directions when needed. The grounds were so amazing....agapanthus everywhere. Don't forget to meet the two donkeys Shaina Twain and Ricky Martin before you leave...and it will be hard to leave! Thank you Christine! You were the perfect hostess!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews