We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Doolan's Country Retreat
Ranked #3 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We stayed for one night in early March this year but as other reviewers have said, we wish it had been for longer. Christine has a really beautiful home and is an excellent host. It is so peaceful there, with beautiful views and an incredible garden that Christine has created. Definitely a place we will revisit when we go back to New Zealand.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Christine has created in her home a perfect slice of tranquility. Spectacular gardens, fabulous views, floor to ceiling windows, high thread count sheets, fresh flowers, delicious breakfasts......its all at Doolans! Christine herself is warm and welcoming! We highly recommend a stay in her beautiful home!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank xmoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This was our first stop in NZ from the UK and it set the bar incredibly high! From the agapanthus lining the drive on our arrival to our beautiful, luxurious double room, we were well and truly spoiled. Christine, the owner, was just lovely and helped us organise our tours, where to eat, what to visit. She also cooked incredible breakfasts (smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, yum) and was happy for us to share her gorgeous, enormous living room and patio. The views were beautiful, the rolling gardens sublime. A real slice of NZ heaven.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dineview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

This is a lovely spot! We were there with another couple and had a wonderful time. Christine is a perfect hostess, very attentive and eager to answer questions and helpful to make our stay fun and comfortable. We loved taking a long stroll around the property down to a fishing spot, seeing sheep and alpacas along the way. The dome shaped house has gorgeous view,s and the welcome pastries and breakfast were perfect. Thank you, Christine for making our stay so memorable and fun!! We hope to be back!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank solotraveler94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Doolans Country Retreat for only one evening but wished we could gave stayed longer. Christine made us so welcome into her beautiful home. On arrival We were made a cup of tea and we sat outside with some of the others guests chatting. Christine gave us lots of local information and ideas of places to visit and also where to go to enjoy good food.
On returning home in the evening we were able to help ourselves to tea/coffee etc.
Breakfast was lovely with lots of cereals/fresh fruit/jams & toast and a hot meal too. All delicious.
Should we ever be lucky enough to return to New Zealand for a third time we will definitely be in touch to stay at the beautiful tranquil Doolans Country Retreat. Thank you

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chrissie46-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
10.2 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
3.7 km away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
410 reviews
10.0 km away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
500 reviews
2.4 km away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
382 reviews
1.2 km away
Country Villa
Country Villa
#7 of 52 in Rotorua
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolan's Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolan's Country Retreat

Address: 165 Dalbeth Road, Rotorua 3072, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: ₹ 9,861 - ₹ 11,677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Doolan's Country Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Doolan's Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing