We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay when in Rotorua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Doolan's Country Retreat
Ranked #3 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Great place to stay when in Rotorua. Christine is a very friendly host and can give you all kind of information on what to do in Rotorua environment.
There are 4 rooms, you will get a very nice breakfast which you eat together with the other guests on a large table.
Very nice garden

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sjonnie2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2017

Oh what an amazing B&B! Modern luxury mixed with antiques in every corner of the home that is surrounded by beautiful gardens. Mrs Doolan, Christine, has a natural warmth to her personality, she made us feel welcome and at home during our 2 day stay. She is willing to share her knowledge of the region, its history and has prepared a succulent and different breafast each day. If we ever go back to New Zealand and she is still hosting travellers we will surely go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jacques_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

I loved this B&B in the countryside near Rotorua! It was a beautiful estate and felt like visiting family in a cozy home. Easy to get to all the activities in and around Rotorua and the owner Christine was a tremendous help in planning the day's activities and navigating about the area. The set up for the house was very personal and open so you always felt welcome and at ease. Be sure to walk the gardens and visit the donkeys...Ricky Martin and Shania Twain. Lovely way to experience real life in New Zealand!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TAGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We were fortunate enough to be able to use Christine's gardens for a family function. It was the perfect place! Everyone who attended adored the gardens, loved the location and had a fantastic time. Thank you Christine for a memorable event!

Room Tip: We personally didn't stay the night, and only used the outdoor area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Smith-Jones-Whanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

My husband and I really enjoyed staying at Christine's place. It is a very beautiful and comfortable house, full of plants, trees and flowers around. The locations is perfect to sightseeing around Rotorua. The breakfast is delicious with many options and also a hot dish. Christine is extremely sweet and helpful helping us to enjoy the most of our stay. Unfortunately we just stayed one night, but we are already planning to come back and stay longer.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LondonSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
10.2 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
765 reviews
3.7 km away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
420 reviews
9.7 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
514 reviews
2.4 km away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
408 reviews
7.5 km away
City Lights Boutique Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolan's Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolan's Country Retreat

Address: 165 Dalbeth Road, Rotorua 3072, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: ₹ 9,700 - ₹ 14,167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Doolan's Country Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Doolan's Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing