We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect stay in what was definitely the best B&B on our NZL trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 124 on Brunswick

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
124 on Brunswick
Ranked #15 of 56 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in what was definitely the best B&B on our NZL trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

Stayed for two nights in 124 on Brunswick and were more than happy with both the very friendly, warm and always helpful hosts Lindsay & Jon and the cosy, spacious, spotlessly clean rooms. While the B&B is not at the very center of Rotorua but a 10 mins drive away, we found it to be an excellent location for getting to know the area and exploring the local sights.
124 on Brunswick is doubtlessly one of the best B&B's we've ever stayed in and is absolutely recommendable to everyone planning a stay in the Rotorua area.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manuel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2009

We arrived in Rotorua after a harrowing drive from Auckland through torrential rain, and the sun suddenly broke through. Lyndsey greeted us cheerily with restoring tea and biscuits. 124 is located some 9-10 kms outside downtown Rotorua on a rolling estate with great views of the lake. Jonathan and Lydnsey have built a modern, eco-friendly home that is inviting, spotlessly clean and offers a truly welcoming home for weary travellers.

Jonathan, a professional wildlife photographer, has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the area, and Lyndsey is a friendly and caring hostess. Thoughtfully, they provide guests with their own sitting room and well-stocked kitchenette. Memories of our trip to the geothermal wonderland at Wai O Tapu a 25 minute drive away will remain with us forever. There are numerous opportunities to experience Maori culture locally, but we recommend a trip to Te Puia which offers an intriguing insight into contemporary Maori arts and crafts and also has its own geothermal mud pools and geysers.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidw028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

Jonathan and Lindsay's B & B '124 on Brunswick' is the perfect base to use when visiting Rotorua. Their knowledge of the area is superb with contacts in all the tourist spots from local Maori displays and helicopter rides to volcanic island landing spots through to beautiful, relaxing forest walks. (They will work with you, by email, before your arrival to plan your days in Rotorua)
Jonathan and Lindsay share their home with you. The accommodation is spotless, beds are wonderfully comfortable and breakfasts are perfect for a busy day. Contact to the rest of the world is by free fast wireless internet or at a computer in the resident's lounge where there are lots of local information brochures available.
As a place to relax for a few hours or as a base to plan then enjoy a hectic experience in New Zealand's playground I can easily recommend Jonathan and Lindsay at 124 on Brunswick.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grumpy_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2009

Our stay a 124 on Brunswick Bed & Breakfast was definitely one of the highlights of our entire trip to New Zealand. Jonathan and Lindsay Barran exhibited such outstanding hospitality that my wife and I felt we were part of their family. The accomodations were superb and the view of the Rotorua Valley was romantic and charming. Our hosts spent so much time helping us plan the remainder of our visit that it made the moderate cost of our room seem almost free. Jonathan and Lindsay know the entire island so well they should be tour guides. I would highly recommend 124 on Brunswick to anyone travelling to New Zealand. This was one of the best bed & breakfasts we have ever stayed at. It should be on your list of places to stay and visit. It deserves the highest rating in every category. If you want to see what hospitality should be like, stay there!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jazz1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
11.8 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
10.2 km away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
10.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 56 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
10.6 km away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 56 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
10.4 km away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#7 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 124 on Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 124 on Brunswick

Property: 124 on Brunswick
Address: 124 Brunswick Drive | RD 4 Tikitere, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Hotel Class:4 star — 124 on Brunswick 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing