We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge before you try!”

Pizza Pasta Ruffino
Ranked #7 of 68 Restaurants in Paihia
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Ruffinos Pizza and Pasta has been located in Paihia for 18 years. We specialise in Homemade Pasta and pizzas, you can also create your own pizza. We are now doing gluten free pizza. We are fully licensed and also BYO wine. Dine in or Takeaway available, we do not deliver
Reviewed 25 January 2018

Walking upstairs we wondered what was waiting! The best pizzas in town were an absolute hit with us and our teenage granddaughter. Gluten free base (for me) no bother and the base for one of the best I have tasted. Well done!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 741susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Two of us arrived just before 9pm on a Tuesday night. Despite the opening hours on TripAdvisor saying it is open until 10pm we were told (slightly brashly) that we were too late to eat in and could order take away only. There were still plenty of staff and some customers (with a couple of empty tables) in the restaurant, and cooking was obviously still happening, so it seems a shame to have turned customers away over an hour before closing. I would recommend calling in advance to see what time they decide to stop allowing seating if you are planning to eat here.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Smuckers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla M, Owner at Pizza Pasta Ruffino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

I apologize for this, I have tried continuously to change our closing time on trip advisor...yes our closing time does vary but food is available up to 9pm regardless, we have had some personal family issues on that week which affected the running of the shop and for that I apologise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Ruffino's is an institution in Paihia. It seems to have been there forever, and always delivers with tasty wholesome italian food. We had dinner here one evening and two nights later we had a take out pasta salad that was oh so delicious. Well worth rediscovering this place.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Non pretentious food in a non pretentious location but everytime we holiday in Paihia this is our go to place. The service was outstanding, we were lucky to get a table and the waitress placed our mains order in front of a very large group that ordered just before us. There is a great selection of pizzas with ample topping and pastas to suit most tastes.
I cant understand the recent venomous review, try this place and you will like it.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fleetwoodmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

This team really do themselves proud with their delicious pizza and pizza bread. We had the garlic pizza bread and a greek salad to begin our meal, both of these were delicious and a perfect way to start. We then continued to order the rest of our meal which just ruined the experience for us to be fair. Do not order the fettuccine with vegetables, as soon as this was served to us we immediately realised that it has been microwaved from frozen. Covered in chopped oregano to make it look more restaurant quality - The piping hot plate and pasta too hot to taste. Not to mention the 2 microwaves staring at us through the kitchen, one of which was covered in written instructions which we assumed was how many minutes to cook each dish. 2 of our group had the seafood basket which they said was enjoyable and the other had the carbonara. The girl who took our orders also took our payment. I explained to her how disappointing the pasta was compared to the delicious pizza. She apologised twice, agreed that the pizza tasted good and that was it. She proceeded to give us the total of our bill and ask how we were paying. I think the lesson to learn here is, if somebody is complaining about an $18 microwave pasta meal that had a puddle of water at the bottom of the bowl, you empathise with the customer and make sure they leave happy. Instead we left with a sour taste in our mouths about the place and no other choice but to leave a review like this. Perfect food is hard to find and we do not search for perfect food everywhere we go, but it isn't hard to offer genuine apologies and compensation. To sum up: order the pizza's as they are lovely - avoid the pasta because you don't know how many weeks it has been frozen - Service friendly enough, but could do with some training on customer interaction. This place probably survives because they do a lot of take away pizza. My advice, stick to what you do best!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla M, Owner at Pizza Pasta Ruffino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Hi there, thanks for your review however firstly the instructions on the microwaves are weights for our frozen products which helps with consistency in our portions and we keep them up there for training purposes, the herbs on top of the vegetables are mixed herbs and parsley...our pastas aren't frozen and the pastas are homemade . I apologize you weren't reimbursed for your meal you didn't enjoy, I have discussed this with the staff for future, and trained them how to handle this situation better!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Pasta Ruffino also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Pizza Pasta Ruffino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing