We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and homely interior”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location and homely interior”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed here 3 nights whilst on golfing wkd in Bay of islands with girlfriends. Very clean, cosy layout and Phil the host, extremely helpful and friendly.
Great advantage is open garage parking under units thereby cutting out slamming car door noise when other visitors come in late or leave early- you hear nothing, stunning views in road end unit and only 60mtrs to Paihia eateries. Local restaurant Jimmy Jacks in conjunction with motel patrons are offered 25% on big range meals but they specialise in Spare Ribs and their m,ixed meat platter and fries is family size- would literally feed 4 adults!
Have stayed in this tourist mecca on and off for 30 years and this has to be best value for money at $465 for 4 over 3 nights- excellent.

Room Tip: Daily serviced rooms not always done- this was great for a 10+ yr old venue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemonm1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    86
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
100
169
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We chose Swiss Chalet based on other Trip advisor reviews, which was a good idea! We booked for 4 nights and ended up adding a 5th, despite some rainy weather. The hotel is in a great position, right near the water and very close to the ferries, shops and cafes. In less than a half hour, you can walk from there to the site of the historical site of the signing of the Waitangi Treaty.
Maureen and Phil advised us on what to see in the area and they are also agents for booking local tours out in the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga, the northern most points, making things really easy.They take the Trip advisor ratings very seriously and are very concerned about in ensuring their service is just what they promise it will be.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed at the Swiss Chalet for a week in June 2012 ... and found it to be one of the most comfortable motels I have ever stayed at..
The hosts were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
My son and daughter-in-law thoroughly enjoyed themselves and yes we would return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Maureen and Phil were exemplary hosts - warm, welcoming and caring. They were quietly efficient in suggesting and organising cruises and fishing for my son and I. The hosts and accommodation were so good we stayed there twice on this trip!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We recently stayed at the Swiss Lodge Motel, Paihai, New Zealand. Our hosts Maureen and Phil were always most obliging and helpful in everything, which made our holiday break such a happy and relaxing experience. We have no hesitation in recommending wholeheartedly their accommodation and the service we received.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
455 reviews
0.0 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
629 reviews
2.7 km away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Property: Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Address: 3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paihia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,526 - ₹ 11,989
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quality unique Swiss style accommodation in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Our modern, fully self-contained units sleep 1-10 people, have balconies, some with stunning sea views and are only metres from Paihia waterfront. Our prime central location places you within 1 minute's walk from Paihia wharf, beach, shops and cafes. The many exciting attractions and activities on offer around the Bay are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel
Swiss Chalet Motel
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing