We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay in Paihia. The location is excellent and the owners are so friendly and can't do enough for you. They helped us arrange trips and had great advice on things to do and the local area, both Paihia and our next stop in Kaitaia.

We had a lovely spacious ground floor room which was very clean with a separate bedroom for the children as well as a small kitchen, seating area and dining area. Everything was great and I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 240 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

What a fantastic place to stay. The rooms are clean - great loaction. The owners are very nice and accomodating.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We had a sea view room in the first floor with it,s own balcony which looked out over the bay. The room was good for 4 people. Ideal with a couple of kids as ther were twin beds in a separate room, and the queen bed in a separate part of the apartment. Kitchen facilities and dining area meant we could make our own breakfast and did not have to venture out early if we didn't want to. Great location close to the shops &ferries across to Russel but far enough away to be quiet in the evenings. We stayed for 5 nights and would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had a really lovely stay at Swiss Chalet. Phil and Maureen were down to earth, warm and very accommodating, allowing us to leave our car overnight as we were going on an overnight cruise and coming back to the Motel. Very clean, comfortable and a balcony although it rained the second night we stayed and I didn't get to sit out! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Studios are very spacious - as good as a one bedroom elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The owners of Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel were really helpful and wonderful people. I had a little accident outside the place, tripping and falling as I was walking to the motel where I had checked in that afternoon and I was just returning from some activities. This happened on the street itself and had nothing to do with the motel I might add but they were incredibly helpful. It turns out I ripped ligaments in my left ankle, which was very painful. Apart form calling an ambulance to transport me to the Kawakawa hospital 20km away, they also came all the way to collect me when they analysed the damage and discharged me from the hospital late at night. Plus they helped me to my room and a free breakfast in the morning, since I wasn't able to move. It was really heart-warming the way both owners of this motel went above and beyond in my time of need, which I am very grateful for. Apart from this, once I finally made it to my room, it was actually a very well laid-out room with everything you would hope for in a lodge/motel, plus all of this for a very reasonable price. If you are looking for some real Kiwi hospitality in the Bay of Islands, do stay at this place. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TIMEUnlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
465 reviews
0.8 km away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.0 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Address: 3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paihia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: ₹ 6,216 - ₹ 14,989 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quality unique Swiss style accommodation in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Our modern, fully self-contained units sleep 1-10 people, have balconies, some with stunning sea views and are only metres from Paihia waterfront. Our prime central location places you within 1 minute's walk from Paihia wharf, beach, shops and cafes. The many exciting attractions and activities on offer around the Bay are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel
Swiss Chalet Motel
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing