We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
92
17
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
17
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gas grill penthouse apartment manager mark lovely apartment the kitchen spacious balcony big bathroom walking distance to shops these apartments could not have been more helpful washing machine and dryer across the road restaurants and bars location was perfect free wifi quiet at night an upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We stayed here with friends in adjacent rooms on the second level overlooking the ocean, wow what a view! The rooms were very comfortable & had everything you could want on a short or long stay.

We stayed here in late August & even then (the winter) the outdoor spa pool was so warm & lovely! There is a bbq out the back near the pool so if you have kids you can bbq & supervise at the same time. The rooms are set out perfectly for both couples & families.

Another thing I'd just like to mention is that the coffee they provide is fairtrade coffee. Small thing make a difference :-)

I am an avid internet booker (Booking.com, Trivago, Wotif etc...) however this time, I'm not sure why, I called directly to reserve our accommodation & I'm so pleased I did! These guys are soooo helpful & friendly, I highly recommend staying here if you would like a guaranteed lovely stay in the beautiful BOI.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yeppoon1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We have stayed in Paihia on lots of occasions over 20 years and have always found the Pioneer perfect for us. Whether with elderly parents, friends or family the two bedroom units are always inviting and have been immaculately maintained. They have full kitchens and very comfortable furnishings that are probably more suitable for a well furnished house than a short term rental apartment
The main attractions of Paihia are about 150 metres from your front door so that once installed, you will have no need of a car to enjoy all that is the magnificent 'Bay of Islands'

Room tip: All of the units have good views apart from 7 and 8. 2 to 6 are closer to the road with unobstructed sea views.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed in a ground floor apartment with sea views for the Paihia half Marathon. Location was perfect, restaurants either side of the apartment, beach across the road, 5-8min walk to the town. Very clean and tidy, huge bathroom with spa and separate shower. Small seperate toilet. Two bed rooms, 1 king bed and two single beds in the other room. I did notice that there was only two face clothes but we could have asked for more. Doesn't seem like the appartments are serviced daily, not a major problem there is a vacuum if you need to use it. Washing machine and dryer located in the kitchen area, they even supplied the washing powder. Free wifi. Secure apartment. Friendly staff, small car park and parking is only available for 1 car per room as far as I could see. Didn't use the pool. Overall nice place to stay.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank toshnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

A group of my friends and i stayed at this motel for the first time last night, mark and vivian were the best hosts ever! Very welcoming and reasonable, caring and amazing people, easy to talk to, authentic people :) even introduced us to a few other beautiful locals at the near pub :) my friend Nga and i feel blessed to have met you all and stayed in this place, we would like to apoligise for our rudeness /loudness, and for the dramas we caused. We both feel ashamed for our actions that we dont 100% remember anyway One day we shall make it up to you. Your place is bloody exceptional and i wouldnt change a thing!! It feels very homely and loved which is hard to come across these days. Thank you SO SO much for having us for the night we really do appreciate it just wanted you all to know :) bless you all! Love from lani and nga (the waipu girls)

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lani8037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

This is the 2nd time we've stayed here and both times I must state that I cannot find anything whatsoever about which to complain. All of the units in this complex are 2 bedrooms and all contain full kitchens, laundry facilities, 2 Satellite TV's, barbecues and basically everything else one might need. Mark and Viv do a superb job of maintaining the delightful units clean and in tip-top shape. Location couldn't be better with beautiful ocean views from the front half of the building - the back half overlooks the pool area. Although we found rates substantially higher in 2117 than in 2114 we'd stay again at the drop of a hat.

Room tip: Lanai on front units overlooks the harbour admiring tourists strolling by. The Lanai for the units at the back overlooks the pool area
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DonL849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PioneerManagers, Manager at Pioneer Waterfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Great to hear your return to the Pioneer was enjoyable and thank you for your comments about the cleanliness of the apartments. While Pool View block of apartment does overlook the pool four of the six apartments get harbour views as well. Regarding the rates the Bay of Islands is a seasonal area an rates vary depending upon time of year ... we do try and keep our rates competitive with the other accommodation providers in the area. Please do feel free to contact us as a returning guest when you next decide to head to the Bay of Islands. Kind regards

Mark and Viv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews