We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Allegra House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Allegra House
Ranked #2 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Two nights in June 2012. The sunrise on the first morning across the harbour was pure magic. Our host was pleasant and helpful and made us a good breakfast, including espresso (which is unusual in B&B here). The room was comfortable and clean etc, everything worked. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerParkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Glad you enjoyed your visit and great to get feedback that you particularly enjoyed the coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
268
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights in Feb 2012 and had a wonderful time. Britta and Hans made us feel extremely welcome and did all they could to make our time enjoyable. The B&B is without a doubt one of the best I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. The room was spotlessly clean, superbly equipped and a fantastic balcony where we could sit and admire the view of the amazing view of the bay.

The breakfast was lovely, with much more than we expected. I did try to eat it all, but failed.....it was fun trying!

One of the other reviewers on Trip Advisor mentions the short cut through the trees on the way to the beach was a bit of a chore, I have to disagree, it really wasn't. As long as you are not wearing 6" heels, then it's no problem at all and saves a long walk round. For me the view from the room more than makes up for a tiny 50 metre walk through woodland.

Thanks for a great stay guys :o)

Room Tip: I think all rooms have an excellent view of the sea, so you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capesthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments about the walk from us into town and also for adding your photos. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of December, the start of our 3 1/2 week trip in New Zealand for our honeymoon.

The accomodation is perfect...we stayed in the apartment, and it was so nice to have full kitchen facilities, with a living room, to just relax - we really felt at home.

The apartment was incredibly spacious, the photos don't do the size of the bedroom justice! Also, what really made Allegra special is the amazing view of the Bay of Islands...it is so beautiful.

Heinz was fantastic on our arrival, and quickly sorted out a boat trip for us the next day, as well as giving us lots of tips for other activities to do.

A really fantastic place, and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The apartment is great if you want to have a few days off from eating out, excellent facilities, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

The Bay of Islands was our favorite spot on the North Island and makes our list of most beautiful places in the world. The Allegra House is a perfect place, in a perfect place. You can't beat the view out of your bedroom window. The accommodation is very nice and breakfast was delicious. Loved the fresh croissants every morning!

Room Tip: Loved the king suite on the top floor of the home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed here at the end of a 3000km trip around the south and north islands of N.Z. It was absolutely perfect! The hosts Brita and Heinz were very relaxed, friendly and helpful.They organised my flight to Cape Reinga, moving it to a better day, because of the weather report. My room, at the top of the beautiful house was incredible. The views from the big glass, full length windows were fabulous, of Paihia and the bay and islands. Out on the very private terrace, listening to music from the sound system and sipping excellent chilled Kiwi white wine was paradise. The room was spacious and luxurious with a large kitchen and bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and from there you could see all the view.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wa1n_gar0_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.9 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.3 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#3 of 21 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.4 km away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 km away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegra House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegra House

Property: Allegra House
Address: 39 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,492 - ₹ 13,095
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegra House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allegra House, our spacious, modern home is in a quiet, central location away from traffic but not far from restaurants, shops and the wharf. Wake up to spectacular uninterrupted views over Paihia to Russell and the Bay of Islands. We our proud that our 3 Bed and Breakfast rooms and 1 self contained one bedroom apartment are rated 4 star (Hosted) by Qualmark.The Bed & Breakfast rooms all have ensuite bathrooms, their own tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, space to sit and relax with comfortable chairs and a balcony overlooking the sea.The Self catering Apartment with super king bed in the bedroom has a large bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and spacious lounge with comfortable leather seating opening onto the balcony. We can also put a single bed in the lounge area.All rooms have their own air conditioning to heat or cool as you choose, TV, DVD player & CDs and free wireless internet or computer access. You are also welcome to use the BBQ, laundry facilities and to enjoy our broad collection of books in the guest lounge. After a day of activities we hope you will enjoy relaxing in the hot spa pool or a have a drink on your own balcony enjoying the view or a game of petanque in our peaceful setting surrounded by native bush. The bush area is full with native trees, plants and birds and there is a bush track to take you down the hill to the centre of Paihia – about 5 minutes down and maybe a bit longer up again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Allegra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegra House Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing