We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful start of our honeymoon!”
Review of Appledore Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Appledore Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful start of our honeymoon!”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Our first place to stay was the Appledore lodge. It was a great place to stay. Jim and Janet gave us a very warm welcome and made us feel at home right from the start. They were so nice to book a trip for us and gave us some good tips for dining and parking.
Our room was very nice with a good bed and a stunning view at the river. We can surely recommand a stay at the Appledore lodge, you surely will not regret it! Thank you again, Jim and Janet for the wonderful stay and a marvellous start of ur honeymoon.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeroenb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
176
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coromandel, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

After a three hour trip from Auckland we had a very warm welcome from Janet and Jim from the Appledore lodge. They arranged a booking for a tour to the hole in the rock and points us some good restaurants en free parking places in the town of Pahia, all wrote on a map. The room had a spectacular view and a very nice and comfortable bed. The breakfast was very good, with homemade bread, jams and pastry.

Thank you, Janet and Jim for your hospitality and we recommend this B&B to all visitors of Pahia.

Jeroen and Janneke vd Broek, The Netherlands

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannekeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire,UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

This was our first stop in New Zealand, and wow!!! Janet & Jim are wonderful hosts; friendly but not intrusive and very helpful and informative, which we really appreciated. The rooms are wonderful, bordering on the river. To wake up to the gentle noise of the river was lovely, with the ducks waddling past!! We would definitely go and stay again and will recommend to all our friends/family.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DillonHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We loved staying here. The location was so lovely with the river running by and the peaceful setting. The studio was very well equipped and the hosts Janet and Jim were very welcoming and helpful. We felt like we were staying with old friends. The pool was a lovely extra after a long day's sight seeing! The location was out of the main drag of Paihia and it was an easy drive to Kerikeri too, Plenty to see and do. Definitely one of the best places we stayed in during our trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iroadlesstravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Appledore was the very best placed we stayed during our visit of 5 weeks to NZ. Jim and Janet are the most friendly hosts and make us feel like friends. The accommodate (we had the studie) is amazing - overlooking the river and we were treated to a wonderful array of wild life all whilst supping a glass of wine! On arrival, after long drive, we were offered a glass of wine and then took the opportunity to dip in the pool - heaven and what a view! I recommend everyone to stay at Appledore and spoil you senses.

The only problem we had was finding it ,as Appledore is not in the centre of Phaihia. It is about 10 minutes outside and as we had no directions (our travel agents fault) this proved a bit of a problem. Jim and Janet made us so welcome that we soon forgot.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oliviaisabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
9.4 km away
No photo provided
5.7 km away
No photo provided
2.1 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
No photo provided
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
946 reviews
6.8 km away
No photo provided
Tarlton's Lodge
#5 of 20 in Paihia
224 reviews
6.4 km away
No photo provided
Chalet Romantica
#2 of 20 in Paihia
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appledore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appledore Lodge

Property: Appledore Lodge
Address: 624 Puketona Road | Northland, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,745 - ₹ 12,973
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Appledore Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover tranquility and peace to the sound of the Waitangi River gently tumbling over miniature waterfalls and rapids, set in two acres of gently sloping pasture land and only 25 meters from the river bank, you will be spellbound by the views from your pillow and all of our accommodation with 1 kilometer of uninterrupted river frontage views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Appledore Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appledore Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing