We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely family place to stay - great value - will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely family place to stay - great value - will be back!”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Just home from two enjoyable nights at the Paihia Scenic. Our room was a two bedroomed loft style - bedroom/lounge and bathroom downstairs, bedroom upstairs. Our room was not airconditioned but lots of windows and ceiling fan, also a standup fan to provide coolness. The rooms were exceptionally quiet, clean and well appointed. Modern furnishing and a balcony looking out towards the back of the property. Lots of quality amenties in the bathroom and well stocked minibar. Internet charge is only $5 a day. Complimentary newspaper and room service available. Only thing - a small thing that bugged me was there was only one phone - upstairs. Lots of wardrobe and draw space handy for a longer stay.

The swimming pool was popular with the children and there is nice seating outside the bar restaurant area backing onto the pool area. The reception staff were extremley helpful and lots of specials and information provided with regards to the restaurant. They have a happy hour voucher you can use 'any hour that suits you' which I thought was a great novel idea! Lots of parking and not far from the town centre or beach. Recommend!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 200/300 block - 100 block single level by the pool. These blocks are the furthest a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemizfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for your great comments. We certainly hope you can come up from Auckland again and enjoy another relaxing visit to the hotel. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    253
    77
    12
    3
See reviews for
100
343
27
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed two nights during summer 2010, and we had a great time there. The rooms were clean, nice and the beds comfortable. The hotel isn't located in the centre of the village, nor close to the sea (although not more than 5 minutes walk), and can be a little difficult to find when arriving by car in Paihia after dark. Despite arriving late in the evening, after the kitchen had closed, the staff were very helpful, and managed to fix us an actually very good dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
It is always pleasing to note that our staff have gone out of their way to help guests in whatever situation they find themselves in. In this case with dining.
Would be happy to host you again. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed for two nights Jan 7 to 9 with our family of four. Check in was good. Nice staff. The room was spacious and well equipped with all you needed. Bad weather hampered our stay but it was still a nice hotel. Due to the rain all off the umbrellas had been taken by other guests but when i asked about them the receptionist was able to source one from a returning guest.
.
Used the pool once and was a little cold. I think it would have been nice on a hot sunny day though. The gardens around the hotel are nice. The beds were comfy. I would recommend this hotel. The walk into town is nice so don't let that deter you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeye007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. Even with bad weather, the Bay of Islands is such a great place to visit. We would look forward to seeing you again if you ever travel back from Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymru/Wales
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Booked last minute one deluxe room with 2 queen sized beds for 2 nights. Room was fine, clean with plenty of space. Just a few things missing-no safe, no air con(we thought the deluxe had air con but you need the superior for this facility apparently). We were on a room only basis ,so can't comment on the food. Position of hotel was fine, just a 10 minute walk to centre. Staff were all pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieteilyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. The deluxe rooms all have air conditioning whilst the superior rooms do not. If you wish to contact the hotel, we can see what your last minute booking was actually for. In regards to in room safes, we do have safe deposit facilites located at the reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2011

booked two deluxe rooms which had two queen size beds in large rooms. Maintenance on one of the rooms was a bit lacking. short on toilet paper, tissues, however t he rooms were very clean. Lovely garden surrounds but without an ocean view, however just a short walk to the beach.
From check in to check out including breakfast and dinner service, the staff were great. Special plug for Paulo in restaurant. Ended up eating in restaurant for dinner because we were so tired and it was some of the best food we've had in New Zealand .. not cheap, but worth it.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 964Jeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Thank you for your comments. We will investigate the tissue issue. I have alos passed your kind comments onto Paulo. The restaurant now has a growing reputation of good quality New Zealand cuisine and again, we are glad that this contributed to your relaxing visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.3 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
440 reviews
0.9 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
1.0 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
602 reviews
3.3 km away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Property: Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,174 - ₹ 13,527
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing