We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
173
75
27
19
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
75
27
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorpool levelsmall hotelhotel restaurant isnew zealandgreat balconythird floorbreakfast and dinnerluxury accommodationlarge balconytravel agentstayed for nightstwo night stayacross the roadsitting areamain townstunning views
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Celebrated 20th Wedding Anniversary and purchased package direct through hotel. Beautiful spacious room, included dinner, breakfast, champagne and discount for spa treatment. Couples massage was good, though I felt overpriced (even with the discount). Had heard alot about the restaurant & it delivered great service and interesting menu. Car parking incredibly tight in the resort so options are limited. Overall OK but did not live up to my expectations or the price charged unfortunately.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank VeeNZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear VeeNZed,

Thank you for your review.
Sorry to see you felt the package and the resort did not meet your expectations but the luxury romantic break package is the most popular package we offer at the resort and we have kept it going because of its popularity and what you get with it.

With regard to the car park we do offer parking under the resort as well in front of La Spa Naturale and we are also in the process of getting more car parking space.

Kind regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Bay of Islands area.
We drove to Paihia from Auckland, it took me about 5 hours, we stop for the odd cup of tea and to look at the views.

This Resort is right across from the beach, its a little way up from the main town, but just a couple of minutes drive or 15 minutes walk.

It really does not offer parking.
Reception is a little hard to find, as the main entrance is not clearly marked.
Its a small hotel, just a few floors.
We asked to be moved from our original room, as it was on pool level and looked over the seating in the outside park of the restaurant, so we shifted to the top floor, great view of the islands and beach.
The restaurant is not a restaurant but more a cafe style place, we had breakfast there, granola served in a jar, I am guessing the chef saw this in some food magazine and was inspired, may be great for the 18 to 21 year old set, but I am passed 60, and want the experience of eating breakfast without having to work out the angles and maths needed to get the yogurt from the indented ridge in the jar.
We had dinner at a local Restaurant, they served the food on a plate.
The room
Good size, great view, bathroom was a little strange, the toilet was in a funny place, but over all good, clean and enjoyable, could do with a little freshening up.
My wife enjoyed the use of the spa, and informed me that it was just wonderful, I went for a bush walk, up the mountain, it took 45 minutes each way, its steep going up, and a little hard on the knees going down, the look out is a bit overgrown but great views of the islands and beaches, we stayed two days, enjoyed the resort, and the town.
Would love to stay again

Room Tip: Look for a room on the top floor
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pflynn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear pflynn58,

Thank for providing feedback of your stay with us.
We appreciate all feedback as it allows for changes or improvements.

The resort does offer parking under the resort as well in front of La Spa Nautrale and we have made it more clearer on finding reception since you departed so thank you for bringing that to our attention.

Our restaurant is very intimate and fine dining so we are sorry if it did not meet your expectations but a lot of guests like it for that reason. We have a very creative team of chefs in the kitchen who are always looking to make things different and appealing for our guests so again sorry if it did not meet your expectations but the majority of guests who to stay with us find that it is a nice to touch to there breakfast in the morning as it is not something they have everyday.

We are pleased that your wife enjoyed the spa treatments and there was plenty for you to do in the lovely bay of islands.

Thank you again for your review and we will pass your comments onto the rest of the team.

Kind regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

The resort is perfect for any getaway. Lovely apartments. Spacious and we had a wonderful view while watching the sunrise over the water. Staff were professional and friendly. Breakfast was amazing. We were only there for a weekend but would recommend to stay a week at least.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Wanda F,

Thank you for your review, which we really appreciate.

We are pleased the resort was perfect for your getaway and we had everything you needed.

We look forward to seeing you again hopefully longer.

Warm regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on our tour of NZ for our joint 50th birthday.

There is absolutely nothing we can fault about this hotel.

The staff are wonderful - so kind, personable and completely professional.

The hotel is simply wonderful. It's modern, perfectly clean and has every single thing we needed in the room.

We think the hotel is an independent - It just didn't have that awful corporate hotel feel and experience. All hotels such feel and operate like this - a truly amazing customer experience.

Breakfast - just wow. The food was amazing.

The location is perfect. And Paihia is simply beautiful.

One day we will hopefully be able to return for another holiday here. Maybe on our 60th birthday.

Many thanks for an amazing stay : )

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DaisyTurnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear mljohnson00,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

Its lovely to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and nothing to fault.
A lot of guests comment on the resort having that leisurely feeling compared to the corporate feeling. Our resort is aimed at people wanting to come somewhere where they can relax as well as having everything they need whether it is dining with us, having a spa treatments or having us put book some tours.

We will pass your review onto our teams and look forward to welcoming you again not just for 60th Birthday.

Warm regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This was an overnight stay in a Poolside Studio on the 1st floor. The room was superb, immaculately clean, very spacious, huge comfortable bed, lovely decor and furnishings. The room opened out onto a private balcony, then onto the pool area. The Hotel is straight across the road from the beach with a magnificent view out over the bay, and was very quiet at night.
I had a 60 minute wonderful Relaxing Massage in the La Spa Naturale within the Hotel complex, which has numerous massage, body, facial, eye, hands & feet and other treatments.
Breakfast was very, very good, top quality food, excellent service. The restaurant is very lovely, again with a wonderful view out over the bay.
The receptionist was delightful, professional and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear markilee,

Thank you for your kind review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad to see you found the room was superb, immaculately clean, very spacious, huge comfortable bed, lovely decor and furnishings. We have been updating some of our rooms so it is nice to see comments reflecting this.
We appreciate all feedback as it allows us to change or improve anything.

The Spa Menu has been updated recently offering a variety of treatments so it is nice to see that you had a wonderful relaxation massage as well liking the treatments available.

We will pass your review onto our teams in the resort as everyone who works here is passionate about providing a friendly and high level service to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews