We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Weekend Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This resort sits right across the beach - as the name states. The view is absolutely incredible, the rooms/deck are clean and spacious, the bathtub is quite large - large enough to fit 2 5"6 tall people comfortably! Beds are very comfortable and loved how we had access to so many sky channels, facilities and amenities. Considering that this is situated by the main road, I personally did not really hear any noise coming from cars/people or buses outside or next door from inside our room. There is a playground right across the road - i thought that's quite handy for visitors traveling with children.

We dined at the Provenir restaurant, the food was good, I had the pork belly for entree and the eye fillet for main. The service was slow but its okay cause they had amazing cocktails - must try the Jamaican Me Crazy drink if you're into sweet cocktails.
We decided to have our desserts delivered to our room for $7 room service charge so we can have time to jump in the pool as this is open to guests til 10pm - room service arrived fast, however, I was not really fond of the dessert, I found it a bit bland in taste, i had the choc nutcracker.

I really liked how there's easy access to the spa and pool, we were on level 2.One morning we had our breakfast delivered, I had eggs bene and hot chocolate, i thought the food was good and service again was quite fast! Overall, the rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious, wifi connection is okay, lots of useful facilities on site that we did not feel like we had to leave the place for anything else. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back.

*If you ever visit this Resort, you have to try the massages and treatments for La Spa Naturale. Outstanding service and experience!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Liane P,

Thank you for your kind review of your time at the resort.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the views absolutely incredible, the rooms/deck clean and spacious. All rooms have 6ft spa baths, which are very popular at the resort especially with people travelling on long journeys so its nice for them to relax and unwind after a long day.

We get a lot of compliments about our beds being very comfortable so thank you for also mentioning this as well.

We will pass your comments onto the restaurant team with regard to the service and food. We appreciate all feedback as it allows for changes or improvements.

The spa menu has recently been changed with new products and treatments so it is nice to see you enjoyed your massages from our therapists.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Celebrated 20th Wedding Anniversary and purchased package direct through hotel. Beautiful spacious room, included dinner, breakfast, champagne and discount for spa treatment. Couples massage was good, though I felt overpriced (even with the discount). Had heard alot about the restaurant & it delivered great service and interesting menu. Car parking incredibly tight in the resort so options are limited. Overall OK but did not live up to my expectations or the price charged unfortunately.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank VeeNZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear VeeNZed,

Thank you for your review.
Sorry to see you felt the package and the resort did not meet your expectations but the luxury romantic break package is the most popular package we offer at the resort and we have kept it going because of its popularity and what you get with it.

With regard to the car park we do offer parking under the resort as well in front of La Spa Naturale and we are also in the process of getting more car parking space.

Kind regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Bay of Islands area.
We drove to Paihia from Auckland, it took me about 5 hours, we stop for the odd cup of tea and to look at the views.

This Resort is right across from the beach, its a little way up from the main town, but just a couple of minutes drive or 15 minutes walk.

It really does not offer parking.
Reception is a little hard to find, as the main entrance is not clearly marked.
Its a small hotel, just a few floors.
We asked to be moved from our original room, as it was on pool level and looked over the seating in the outside park of the restaurant, so we shifted to the top floor, great view of the islands and beach.
The restaurant is not a restaurant but more a cafe style place, we had breakfast there, granola served in a jar, I am guessing the chef saw this in some food magazine and was inspired, may be great for the 18 to 21 year old set, but I am passed 60, and want the experience of eating breakfast without having to work out the angles and maths needed to get the yogurt from the indented ridge in the jar.
We had dinner at a local Restaurant, they served the food on a plate.
The room
Good size, great view, bathroom was a little strange, the toilet was in a funny place, but over all good, clean and enjoyable, could do with a little freshening up.
My wife enjoyed the use of the spa, and informed me that it was just wonderful, I went for a bush walk, up the mountain, it took 45 minutes each way, its steep going up, and a little hard on the knees going down, the look out is a bit overgrown but great views of the islands and beaches, we stayed two days, enjoyed the resort, and the town.
Would love to stay again

Room Tip: Look for a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pflynn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear pflynn58,

Thank for providing feedback of your stay with us.
We appreciate all feedback as it allows for changes or improvements.

The resort does offer parking under the resort as well in front of La Spa Nautrale and we have made it more clearer on finding reception since you departed so thank you for bringing that to our attention.

Our restaurant is very intimate and fine dining so we are sorry if it did not meet your expectations but a lot of guests like it for that reason. We have a very creative team of chefs in the kitchen who are always looking to make things different and appealing for our guests so again sorry if it did not meet your expectations but the majority of guests who to stay with us find that it is a nice to touch to there breakfast in the morning as it is not something they have everyday.

We are pleased that your wife enjoyed the spa treatments and there was plenty for you to do in the lovely bay of islands.

Thank you again for your review and we will pass your comments onto the rest of the team.

Kind regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

The resort is perfect for any getaway. Lovely apartments. Spacious and we had a wonderful view while watching the sunrise over the water. Staff were professional and friendly. Breakfast was amazing. We were only there for a weekend but would recommend to stay a week at least.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Wanda F,

Thank you for your review, which we really appreciate.

We are pleased the resort was perfect for your getaway and we had everything you needed.

We look forward to seeing you again hopefully longer.

Warm regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on our tour of NZ for our joint 50th birthday.

There is absolutely nothing we can fault about this hotel.

The staff are wonderful - so kind, personable and completely professional.

The hotel is simply wonderful. It's modern, perfectly clean and has every single thing we needed in the room.

We think the hotel is an independent - It just didn't have that awful corporate hotel feel and experience. All hotels such feel and operate like this - a truly amazing customer experience.

Breakfast - just wow. The food was amazing.

The location is perfect. And Paihia is simply beautiful.

One day we will hopefully be able to return for another holiday here. Maybe on our 60th birthday.

Many thanks for an amazing stay : )


Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mljohnson00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBRManager, Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear mljohnson00,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

Its lovely to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and nothing to fault.
A lot of guests comment on the resort having that leisurely feeling compared to the corporate feeling. Our resort is aimed at people wanting to come somewhere where they can relax as well as having everything they need whether it is dining with us, having a spa treatments or having us put book some tours.

We will pass your review onto our teams and look forward to welcoming you again not just for 60th Birthday.

Warm regards

Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
1.1 km away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.3 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.3 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paihia Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#13 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: ₹ 16,862 - ₹ 29,813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Paihia Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa overlooks Paihia's most picturesque beach and is within walking distance of Paihia Wharf, the departure point to discover the wonderful Bay of Islands. Located within the Hotel is the chic poolside and ocean view restaurant offering only the finest culinary experience. Visit the hotel's award-winning spa, La Spa Naturale, offering first class spa treatments with a uniquely New Zealand flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paihia Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paihia Beach Resort And Spa
Paihia Beach Hotel Paihia
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing