We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of Pearl of the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pearl of the Bay
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here and would stay again when I visit again?
Andrew the host is a great guy who helped us lots to make sure or stay was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    95
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
110
189
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed in a standard room at the bali hai motel in paihia and it was perfect! It has everything you need and more, it has a fantastic LCD tv, a wide range of dvds an amazing view of the beach and the sunset setting on the hills, along with this it has a spa pool and access to a magnifficent pool. Andrew was an amazingly helpful person to me while I stayed there, very friendly and will go out of his way to make sure you enjoy your stay. I would recommend it to anyone travelling up north. Overall the Bali Hai was a brilliant Motel 10/10!!!

Room Tip: there is no need to add a tip to help you choose a good room, all the rooms are fantastic although i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We spent four weeks travelling around North Island and I can say that the Bali Hai was the best motel we found by far. Our intent was to stay for one night but decided to use the Bali Hai as a base and stayed three nights! In common with (some) other motels, we found it to be very clean and comfortable, but others did not offer the same welcome - they did not have Andrew! I challenge anyone to find a more personable and helpful host. Andrew booked trips for us, ordered take away food, a taxi, and as I have a broken back, he even washed the car for us!! Every aspect of the Bali Hai reflected Andrew's obvious desire to ensure a pleasant and relaxing stay and was very much appreciated.
Linda & Julian, Kent, England.

Room Tip: No issues at all with our room. As only 9 rooms there is no reason to assume others would differ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This small motel has a number of things going for it - helpful, friendly owner, good rooms with full kitchen facilities, hot tub, access to a pool, nice view. Free use of barbecues and DVD library. If you don't have a car you might find it a bit far from downtown. My only other quibble would be that I prefer bar soap over the liquid soap provided.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed here in mid January, 2012 and loved every minute of it. Facilities are fabulous: clean and spacious and we wanted for nothing. Andrew is so friendly and nothing is a bother. He clearly loves what he does and it shows (he hates a chat it would seem!! - lol) He helped make our stay (alas as short as it was) a memorable and wonderful one suggesting activities and even making the bookings for us.
This is an incredible region and the accommodation and beauty of the place left us on such a high.
I have no hesitation in recommending this to everyone! We even want to go back (so look out Andrew!!)
Amanda & Aydin

Room Tip: Leave it to Andrew, he WILL look after you :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.8 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
1.3 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
446 reviews
4.2 km away
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
3.7 km away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl of the Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl of the Bay

Property: Pearl of the Bay
Address: 8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Bali Hai Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#12 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,103 - ₹ 7,558
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl of the Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pearl of the Bay is a small family run business. We are personal in our approach and our size allows us to ensure that we respond to guests as individuals. With only 9 units, you are never crowded, our lay out gives you optional places to sit and take in the atmosphere, be it on our back patio, your front balcony, or somewhere in your room.We look forward to welcoming you to our spot in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pearl of the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Of The Bay Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing