We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
133
52
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
52
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great couple swimming pool waitangi river enjoyed our stay stayed for nights short drive free wifi powered site beautiful view nice pool perfect place to stay the kitchen the ground floor would definitely stay here again paihia town peter motel
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

BEST CAMPSITE AT THE BAY OF ISLANDS. Arriving into the Bay of Islands in our motorhome, we had our mind sets that we had to be on the water, as you do here! We arrived into Russell (cute town!) and then got the car ferry from Opua to Paihia. The campsites around Paihia were not great, so we took a punt on the Falls Campground; wow we were pleased we did. The views here are amazing; campsite looks directly at Haruru falls. The grounds man and reception were fabulous. If you score the front sites great, however don’t be put off if you don’t.; we didn’t and we loved the site we got as all sites really have uninterrupted views. The bathrooms were very clean and the laundry, which I used worked really well. Cost was the cheapest we had to date. We would have stayed here another night, however time was not on our side. TIP: take the walk from the campsite to the falls and you can even continue to the Waitangi reserve if you have a few hours up your sleeve. Would stay here again in a heart beat.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SandyWRAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

I would describe this place as a hidden gem. We stayed in the motel for several nights and found the place to be very clean and tidy. The hosts are very helpful and accommodating as well so if you want to know where to go when you staying in this region they will give you all the help and advise you need.
Highly recommended and thank you for making our stay all the more enjoyable.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcpatel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

The room was clean and tidy. The surroundings of the motel was neat and tidy too with a swimming pool and BBQ set just outside our rooms. It is also convenient to a supermarket where food is easily available.

Peter the owner is an accommodating person and we had a wonderful time there.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carolng59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

The motel & campground has great view of the Haruru Falls! It is not too far a distance, from Paihia town, so easily accessible. The room that we were in, was clean & quiet. The owner, Peter, is an awesome guy! Very helpful & informative

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tess_C123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Our group of 8 spent 2 nights at the motel on the ground floor. Peter was simply fantastic and helpful - gave us tips and ideas of what to do. Helped us organize transport for dinners in the town centre. We had a great time. The motel units are clean, airy and well designed. Kitchen was well equipped and we could cook without any leaving smell in the sitting hall and sleeping area!!! There is a swimming pool just right at your door step. Unobstructed view from the pool overlooking the river!! Great place to have a break!!! Thank you Peter for being a wonderful and amazing host.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank monica t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews