We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“went for 3 nights stayed for 7!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haruru Falls Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haruru Falls Resort
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“went for 3 nights stayed for 7!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We booked for 3 nights and stayed for 7 - speaks volumes really!
Very pleasant when booking over the phone, great greeting when we arrived - we even got a choice of pitch- true we went in february when it's a little quieter. Great pool. We camped right on the edge of the river, how gorgeous. Took the jet ski up the river to the sea, even had a lpay around the islands.
The setting is spectacular and very peaceful, even over Waitangi weekend. The showers were hot and despite there being 3 I never had to wait! The staff were friendly and approachable.
Will we go again? Definately - out of the mad rush of December and January!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    44
    23
    24
    26
See reviews for
62
68
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Spent a couple of nights here in December 2011 with a motorhome and, although there's nothing much wrong with the resort & pool, the pitches are very small for tents and motrhomes unless you've got a small camper.
Tent owners were having to park there car wherever there was a spare space and your were lucky if you could get your awning down from your motorhome (look at their photo showning the lovely palm trees and you'll get the picture).
Apparently the pitches are 5 1/2 metres, but we could have passed a gin & tonic between ours & our neighbours motohome windows!!

Room Tip: sorry didn't sleep in a room- we were in a motorhome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riversidezoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed in the campground for 3 days. We were welcomed by very friendly staff. When the next day a waterfront site came free, we asked if we could move there which was no problem. From here you have this beautifull view over river to the falls!The kids had a great time in the huge swiming pool and playground. It's the goor base to check out the area like Kerikeri, Waitangi, Pahia and Russel. Its true that toilet/shower area could be cleaned more frequently. On the other hand we camped a lot on DOC sites and this wasn't worse.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pepin2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Great staff, they have done a fantastic job fixing up the rooms and pool area, all our needs were met and had a relaxing stay thankyou, recommend to all!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstye27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights over New Year's Eve 2011/2012 in a outrageously expensive room at $140/night. We would have left but we were there with a group of friends and we could not find accomodation for all of us elsewhere during this busy time of the year.
The room was disgusting dirty , the shower was an absolut joke, the water pressure was so low that took around 45 min- 60 min to take a "quick" shower without washing my hair . The staff , starting with the manager/owner, was the most unprofessional, unfriendly, unhelpful, rude you can ever come across. The manager was wearing different name badges so she can hide from unhappy customers. Everything that we asked for the first answer you could hear was: "no" or "not possible".
In New Year's Eve the Manager was drinking alcohol while serving customers and she seemed intoxicated by mid night and became agressive with other customers.
Unbelievable!!
This was by far the worst experience we have ever had and we will never ever stay there again.
Run if you can!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paihia hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
3.1 km away
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
3.1 km away
Tanoa Paihia Hotel
Tanoa Paihia Hotel
#34 of 44 in Paihia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.6 km away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
3.8 km away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
3.2 km away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#15 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haruru Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haruru Falls Resort

Property: Haruru Falls Resort
Address: Old Wharf Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,763 - ₹ 16,434
Hotel Class:3 star — Haruru Falls Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Haruru Falls Hotel Paihia
Haruru Falls Resort Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing