We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,000)
Filter reviews
1,000 results
Traveller rating
749
199
34
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
749
199
34
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandshort driveamazing viewspeaceful locationharuru fallswatching the sunrisegreat hostsplaces to visitthree nightslocal areaa great place to stayoverlooking the bayguest laundrycape reingastayed longerboat tripthe waitangi treaty grounds
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 1,000 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Stayed for 3 nights in one of the Ocean View rooms and the view was amazing! Room was very clean and the service was great. The motel is a very short drive out of Paihia (less than 5 minutes) and well worth the extra drive for the view overlooking the bay. Norm also helped us arrange a boat trip which was much cheaper and less crowded than any of the others that we originally looked at which was a bonus!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

The rooms are very clean and very quiet. The views are panoramic and include a vista of the sea and bush. Tui's were feeding just outside our window and we could see the sun rise from our bed. The owners incredibly helpful.

Room Tip: This was our second stay in 5 years and we would definitely stay there again.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 475helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed out stay at Cooks Lookout. Its a 5 min drive or so away from the hustle and bustle of Paihia (short drive to Countdown if you need to stock up on supplies too). We stayed in the two bedroom ocean view apartment and the view from there is spectacular. The apartment was homely, very clean and well presented.
The service provided by our hosts Norm and Shelagh was excellent. Happily provided us with a highchair and baby bath. Small things like receiving a good size jug of fresh milk rather than a few thimbles of UHT long live milk help make the stay even more pleasurable. Happily recommend and would happily return.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are superb.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Just a 7 minute drive from the crowded waterfront, this accommodation was a highlight of our trip. Friendly owners, great views, and a clean comfortable room. We loved peacefully sitting on the balcony, enjoying the birds and the fabulous vista. Highly recommended, just don't expect to walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the top.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

as long as you have a car, this is a great location, perched high above the bay. No entertainment needed...just sit on the decking and take in the breath-taking views.
Friendly helpful staff. Nice pool.

A wonderfully funny thing in the garden opposite reception...don't want to spoil the surprise so go to look!

Room Tip: just check you have a view.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews