We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful views and hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cook's Lookout Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Romsey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful views and hosts”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

A lovely unit with spacious rooms and very well equipped kitchen. The views from our decking were superb over the Bay towards Russell and inland. Norm and Shelagh were outstanding hosts who were so helpful and friendly in making our stay so enjoyable. A good location to visit other parts of Northland as well as the Bay of Islands

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    190
    34
    8
    9
See reviews for
248
519
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My partner and I stayed in Cooks Lookout Motel over Easter weekend in 2012 for 2 lovely nights. From the moment we got there we were made feel really welcome by Norm and Shelagh who when we asked gave us lots of advice on things to do. Accomodation was immaculate, bathroom and kitchen were really new and had everything we needed. Shower was absolutely spotless! We stayed in apt 9 which overlooked the pool and had such an awesome view of the bay. Plenty of outdoor furniture. Apt was really spacious so we glady spent the day there on Good Friday looking out over the view, relaxing,dipping in the pool (extra towels provided for the pool). Bed and pull out bed was really comfy with lots of extra pillows! Was a really peaceful place to stay but close enough to head to all the tourist spots and into town for dinner and drinks. On the Saturday evening Norm dropped us into town! So nice! Would definely revisit and reccomend this accomodation to other people.

Room Tip: We were in apartment 9 which was a pool view room but we still had an awesome view of the bay so I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed at Cook's lookout for 2 nights with my boyfriend. Norm and Sheleigh were lovely hosts, the weather was bad while we were there and they were very helpful in finding us things to do in the rain. The motel has lovely views (wish we could have appreciated them more in sunshine!) and the rooms have everything you could need, they are cosy and very clean. The motel is situated just outside the town but is close enough to everything aslong as you have a car, it is actually nicer for not being in the centre on the main road. I would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstausSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Excellent motel with a wonderful view. The hosts were very helpful, even finding a bucket and cloth to remove all the sand off the car after driving down 90 mile beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puketiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Having read the glowing reviews of other customers I feel like i stayed at a different motel so I wanted to give prospective customers another view so that they like us are not severely let down by the experience.

We stayed at Cooks Lookout Motel recently for a few nights. Driving into the motel it looked a fairly rundown 60's style motel and the grave near the office with a half buried dummy and the sign that said "last customer who complained" did not help my poor impression.

On entering the unit, while clean, the decor was very disappointing you could see that the kitchen and bathroom had been updated but but the style was very 80's - pink walls and blue/green carpet old sofa and dining table and old net curtains. The bedroom was very small and the old bed covers and bed linen were certainly not up to the standard you would expect in a place charging around $200 per night.

The kitchen was reasonably stocked but kitchenware was old and dated and could certainly do with replacement.

As others have commented the views are great and the pool looks nice when the covers are off. While we were there the covers remained on until late in the afternoon so if you wanted to swim you had to ask for them to be removed - not really what you expect in a motel.

In summary this was one of the most expensive places that we stayed at in the north island and definitely the poorest quality

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kez1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookslookout, Owner at Cook's Lookout Motel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Naturally we are sorry that the reviewers did not like our Motel. When we bought Cook’s Lookout 10 years ago it was a very rundown Motel but had fabulous views. Since then we have spent a great deal of time and money renovating and upgrading whole Motel to what most of our guests consider be a very acceptable standard and many of them have complimented us on our colour scheme and the tastefulness of our decor. All of our sofas are 3-5 years old and in excellent condition and most of our bed covers have been recently replaced as part of our ongoing maintenance and upgrading schedule.

Our Motto on our website is-“We’ll never be 5 Star, but we’ll always be Special” and the vast majority of our guests agree with this. We would recommend that anyone expecting more luxurious furnishings and fittings would be happier staying at one of the newer, more expensive Apartment blocks in Paihia.

We cover our large Solar Heated Pool at night to retain the warmth of the water and, on cooler days, leave the cover on until someone would like to use it, thus allowing our guests to get the most enjoyment from this facility. Otherwise it would lose heat and some guests might then complain about the water temperature!

The amusing “grave” by the office is actually a pile of stones with a pair of shoes at one end and, apart from our Ocean Views, is probably the feature most photographed by our happy guests on arrival!

In short, if potential guests are looking for clean, comfortable accommodation with stunning views plus great hospitality and they have anything approaching a sense of humour, we are pretty sure they will enjoy their stay here at Cook’s Lookout.

We know we can’t please all of the people all of the time but we often go a lot of extra miles to try to do so.








In summary, we know we can’t please all the people all of the time but we know that we have often gone a lot of extra miles to try to do so















In summary, we know we can’t please all the people all of the time but we know that we have often gone a lot of extra miles to try to do so
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
3.4 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.3 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.8 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
2.7 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
3.3 km away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Property: Cook's Lookout Motel
Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia 0257, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,462 - ₹ 10,211
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing