We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comparable Prices, Centrally Located, Ridiculously Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aarangi Tui Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aarangi Tui Motel
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comparable Prices, Centrally Located, Ridiculously Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

I really wish I took pictures of this place b/c there aren't much photos on the internet on this place. The photos don't do it any justice, it's actually alot nicer than I thought.

Price: Comparable, the only reason why I rated them a 3 on Value is b/c I'm usually a budget traveller but to accomodate my travelling buddies I had to upgrade a bit, but the price they offered for the 1bdrm for 3 guests including a kitchenette was a good and comparable deal for what you got.

Location: Centrally located, it's on Williams Rd which is the town center, walk 2 small measly blocks and you're right were all the cafes, vendors, tour centers, bank, etc. Don't know who was complaining about the noise in the previous reviews but we were on the 1st corner unit facing the street and I slept on the futon right by the window, with it open, and there was no noise. The 2 blocks away from the town center kills the noise, and besides, it's Paihia, the town is quiet in general.

The Room: We had a 1bdrm, with a huge living room area with kitchenette and a fairly medium-big bathroom. The person complaining about the studio is crazy, it's a studio, that's why it's small and that's why you got a better deal. It's a no-frills, basic accomodation. We only paid a few extra NZD for the additional 3rd person where they provide extra linens/pillows/blankets/mattresspad for the futon that was already soft and comfy to begin with. The kitchenette had alot of supplies like plates and stuff, this makes this a great homebase where you can make some in-house meals to save a bit of money and store snacks. There's a fancy flatscreen with cable if you feel like staying in on a rainy day and just watch movies & TV. Even though I'm a budget traveller, I'm a stickler for cleanliness and this place is freakin' spotless. The bathroom was ridiculously clean which I loved. They offer free credit for WiFi and then you pay extra if you need more but I found the amount they initially give you was more than substantial to look up the basics and do quick email checks. They also have laundry facilities on-site but we did not use them.

The service: A nice lovely couple runs the place, they live right on the property. I did not deal with them too much b/c there were no problems but they seemed very nice. And they were flexible. We enjoyed Paihia so much that we extended our stay and it was as easy as just asking them if we could extend. The couple was approachable and by seeing how they maintain Aarangi Tui and they prices they offer, I can tell they are just good honest business people.

The only con I guess is if you're looking to party at the bars you have to either walk a bit or just drive down the street (3min max) b/c all the bars are on Kings Rd. But that's only if that's what you're looking for. Then at the same time, the night noise level will go up, you're further down from the main dock and town centre. So Kings Rd is where you would stay if you wanted budget accomodations. But we're early 30s working professionals, though we do like nightlife and libations, we liked having our homebase at Aarangi Tui and just walked down the street to Kings Rd.

I loved Paihia, and I would definately stay at Aarangi Tui again :)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJunkie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    25
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
23
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

It's a motel, no more, no less. It's clean and run by friendly and helpful people. The location is OK, easy walking distance to most things, but with two roads nearby, can be noisy. Very poor internet and mobile phone signal and there is no land line. Our two bedroom unit was spacious and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

We just had 3 nights in a little gem of a spot. This motel is a credit to the new owners and what they are doing is good. The beds are comfortable, the surrounds are quiet yet only walking distance to some terriffic eating or you can cook in if you wish. After the hassles of Auckland this was a little mecca of sanity and we would stay here again without a moments hesitation, very reasonably priced for a 2 bedroom unit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

We booked ahead and had to reserve with a credit card. When we arrived, we were very disappointed with the room, which is the smallest studio we've ever seen in all of our travels in New Zealand.

While it's clean and well-decorated, it is ridiculously small. The small, double bed is squeezed right up against one corner of the room and there is no where to sit except on the bed (there's a chair, but it's squeezed into a closet overhang).

We tried to get out of our booking, but the owners locked us in. Do not book here, there are much better places to stay by spending just $10-15/night more. If the room was priced at $75-80 instead of $120, we'd understand, but it's just a plain ripoff.

The hotel, while a handy walk to town, is located between two fairly busy streets so there is lots of street noise at night and in the early morning.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galapexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuimotel, Owner at Aarangi Tui Motel, responded to this review, 10 May 2010
Hi, we note your concern about our studio unit, and are sorry you felt unhappy with your visit. We are new owners of the Tui Motel and would like to think we would have been more lenient with you in this situation. We aim to please and we do like our guests to come back!

Please note however, that we do advise on all our website listings that the Studio Unit "is a small unit". We also have photos of the inside displayed as well so you can really see what you are buying. We do also feel that in high season - Dec-March - $120 is a very reasonable price to pay for a clean, newly refurbished, fully serviced unit. Like you said, you could pay $10-$15 more and get a larger unit if that is what you are looking for.

Lots of our guests love our studio, it provides an affordable option for singles or couples who wish to travel in our high season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 km away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#14 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.6 km away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.3 km away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#28 of 43 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#13 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa Bella Motel
Casa Bella Motel
#20 of 43 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 km away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aarangi Tui Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aarangi Tui Motel

Property: Aarangi Tui Motel
Address: 16 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,275 - ₹ 9,439
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aarangi Tui Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aarangi Tui Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aarangi Tui Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing