We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best activity of our trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of R. Tucker Thompson

R. Tucker Thompson
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 109.77*
and up
Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch
Ranked #1 of 49 Tours in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come sailing on Northland’s own tall ship! You can help set the sails, ride on the bowsprit, climb the rigging, or alternatively you can relax while our crew does the work. Morning cream tea and a delicious BBQ lunch are included. The ship is a member of the Northland Sustainable Tourism Charter and operated by a charitable trust. Profits from day sails are used to develop youth in Northland.
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best activity of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Amazing time on board and everything I had hoped it would be - even saw the a few pods of dolphins playing around in the water for a while! Crew were fantastic and got everyone involved who wanted to help set the sails and steer the mighty ship. Climbing the centre mast to the lookout was a bonus as you get quick a unique perspective from above. Would definitely go again and recommend it to anyone.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Kia ora and thanks for your review about your day on board. We can't guarantee you'll see dolphins, but they are often around and are a great bonus! We'll look forward to seeing you back again when you are next in the Bay of Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    31
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fulton IL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Could not have been greater!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

The R. Tucker Thompson was an absolutely fabulous day's outing. We took the full day cruise with about 22 others. Great, 3-person crew who got everyone involved who wanted to be involved and were great with the young children on board. My husband had a ball sitting out on the bowsprit for most of the journey out and climbing up to the crow's nest on the way back in. Anchored in a beautiful bay and had a little hike ashore on an island before returning to the ship for a very tasty lunch. It was just a perfect day and we both liked the fact that purchasing our tickets helps to underwrite the REAL job of the R. Tucker Thompson--to take school kids on leadership development cruises. Great cause and a great outing.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Afficionados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Kia ora from the beautiful Bay of Islands and thank you very much for taking time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your day on board the Tucker and thanks for your support. We are now in full swing with our youth voyages so do check our website to see what they are getting up to!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A different sailing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

An excellent trip sailing around the Bay of Islands. An opportunity to try out traditional Tall Ship sailing, but in comfort and with an expert and friendly crew, so you can join in as much, or as little as you like. A lovely bbq lunch and walk on a beautiful beach. We only had 6 on board which meant it was very exclusive, it would have been crowded with the full number, but a great day out and good value, especially when you know that the profits go towards the real reason for the ship which is to help disadvantaged kids throughout the winter. Well worth doing.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank lizziel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Kia ora and thanks for taking the trouble for writing your review and glad you enjoyed your day out on board. You would have had the ship to yourselves with only 6 passengers and we really would like to get a few more!!
We have just started our youth voyages this week and they are having a wonderful time so thank you for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant day on an interesting ship”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Was given this trip as a birthday present, having had a long interest in sailing. T.T. is a very good replica Tall Ship. I think it would have been very crowded with the maximum "crew" of about 40, but there were only nine passengers which meant that those wishing to take the helm had plenty of opportunity to do so.
Crew were helpful and pleasant and overall the day was very good value for money.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tripadvisergranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Kia ora and thanks for taking the time to write a review, it's appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your birthday present and got a chance to steer. We very rarely have over 40 passengers so there is usually plenty of space to enjoy the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

If you are looking for a great day out, I would highly recommend going on the R. Tucker Thompson. The staff were friendly and the food was fantastic. All in all we all had a great day out seeing the Bay of Islands and of course seeing the dolphins swim along with the boat. It is also suitable for babies as we had a 6 month old at the time.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Kia ora and greetings from the Bay of Islands. So glad you enjoyed yourselves on board. We have plenty of bunks down below for naps so it's a great way for the parents to enjoy a day out without having to worry the little one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed R. Tucker Thompson also viewed

 

Been to R. Tucker Thompson? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing