We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & good price.”
Review of Paihia Star Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paihia Star Motel
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 2 April 2016

A small motel at the southern end of the main road in Paihia. I believe it only has three rooms. Very pleasant without being sensational. Good price for Paihia.

Centrally located within a few minutes walk of the beach, restaurants and the town.

Others have praised the service - it was good but one of the owners was away so I am not really able to add much in this respect.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alannevillenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor S, Owner at Paihia Star Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thanks for writing a review. We do hope that you will come again so that you can have both owners on-site and see why others have praised the service. A warm welcome is assured.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2016

We have just returned from a 3 month trip and found Paihia Star Motel to be one of our favorite and most memorable stays. The room was very cozy, clean and well stocked and the location was very close to everything. What makes Paihia Star Motel so wonderful however, are the owners. They are kind, thoughtful and very generous and we felt very welcomed and cared for while at their motel. They did everything to make our stay a very special one, for which we are very thankful. I highly recommend a stay there!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travel627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor S, Owner at Paihia Star Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Both of us enjoyed having you as our guests and are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, The Bay of Islands is a beautiful location and well worth spending time exploring. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Paihia Star whilst travelling with another couple. The 2 bedroom apartment was very spacious and clean, with a good bathroom and well equipped kitchen. It also had the added bonus of air conditioning which no other motels had. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

This is a small motel with about 3 motel rooms run by the owners who live above.
We had a warm welcome and the accommodation was very clean with all the equipment you might need.
Within 10 minutes walk are Paihia's bars, restaurants and the information centre, boat trips and ferry to Russell.
The rooms at the motel have a large patio door and floor to ceiling window so it does not feel particularly private for sitting out etc.
However the accommodation is fine.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BaildonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

We visited paihia in dec 2015 . we had a very comfortable stay at paihia star motel.it is spotlessly clean . The wifi was resonably good . they have a small rose garden which i really loved . The owners wete really welcoming and nice to us . really recommend this place to stay .

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Arti2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.0 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
465 reviews
1.3 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#13 of 43 in Paihia
208 reviews
0.9 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
639 reviews
3.4 km away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paihia Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paihia Star Motel

Address: 78 Seaview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: ₹ 6,105 - ₹ 11,430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation comprises two modern studio units and a spacious 2-bedroom apartment, all with kitchen facilities. All units are situated at ground level with convenient parking. We have a garden with gas BBQ, a patio area, and a laundry for guests' use. Wireless internet is accessible at the motel). Paihia town centre with its many cafes, restaurants and shops is an easy stroll along the waterfront - just park your car and relax. We would be happy to advise and assist in arranging tours and cruises. We are not big enough to be inflexible. We are here for your holiday comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Paihia Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paihia Star Motel Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing