We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite property on our trip to NZ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abri Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abri Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Our favourite property on our trip to NZ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I work for the Airlines in the UK, so myself and my husband are extremely lucky that we get to travel around a lot and see some amazing places (although have had a few mishaps travelling Standby!).
Have been to Oz a lot but this was our first time in NZ, we started off in Auckland and travelled all around the North Island. The Bay of Islands was our favourite destination, we found it in one of those books entitled ''places to see before you die''! The ABRI APARTMENTS were by far one of the most beautiful, clean and relaxing properties we have ever stayed at! The apartments (we stayed in Treetops!) have amazing views over the Bay and we found it difficult to tear ourselves away from the balcony where we had our breakfast every morning! It is only a 2 minute walk down the road to the front of Paihia where you can take a stroll by the waterfront and find lots of different style eating places, quirky shops and information centres on trips etc!
We had 3 nights at the Abri Apartments but really wished we had had enough time to stay there for at least a week!
The new owners Peter and Helen have made it a little piece of heaven!
''Thankyou Peter for also helping us when our car got stuck on our arrival!'' Much appreciated!!!
Really loved the spa bath and all the natural soaps and smellies provided, as well as fluffy bath robes!
Came back from a trip out to the ''Dolphins and Hole in the Rock cruise'', to find lovely grapes left in our kitchen area that my husband could not stop eating, he said they tasted like pure fresh blackcurrrants!
The actual apartment in general is immaculate but lovely and cosy with beautiful soft furnishings and wooden surrounds, you just feel so at home. The surrounding gardens to the property are beautiful and tropical with lots of birds to watch at breakfast!
Brochures, leaflets and a ''suggestions'' book of what to do depending on the weather is spot on!
We really hope to stay at the Abri Apartments again when we next have a trip to the Southern Hemisphere, and would recommend this property to all you travellers out there!

Room Tip: We stayed at Treetops because we thought it would have the best view! Think it did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
185
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Having driven through Paihia we turned off at the end of the town. Within two minutes we were looking out over the bay and were surrounded by trees and birdlife, ready to relax. The apartment was great and considering it was a studio unit It was spacious. It was also very well appointed right down to the small details. It was immaculately clean, with everything you could need. We used the kitchen area a lot and it worked out really well. We didn't use the car once while we were there (two nights). We walked to the shops and cafes etc. and to the ferry to go over to Russell. A most relaxing stay in great surroundings, and great hosts too. Definitely recommend the appartment and the location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Work burnt out and in desprite need of some solotude time of r & r from the rat race, i was recommended abri apartments from family. Upon arrival the reception from the hosts Peter & Helen was commended, friendly smiles that greeted me for starters was just the start of 4 lovely, quiet, relaxing and enjoyable nights in their appartment below their home, soaking up the r&r required! Perfect in everyway, not to mention spotless!!Exactly what was required after a hellish week in the city!! Thanx &see you again for another glass of sav blanc sometime real soon!!

Room Tip: There are separate villas for real privacy, but i was more than contented in the flat below, very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AucklandWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

We arrived in Paihia specifically to see the Maori canoes on Waitangi Day. Since this was a national holiday, finding a great location was a challenge. Abri Apartments are really two fantastic treehouse like units up in the trees overlooking the bay. We could not have found a more perfect place and we could walk into town two block away. They are quiet, private, separate buildings so you feel like you are in your own private house. Oh, and the canoes were amazing!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margotkenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

Fabulous self catering accom. with fantastic views. Garth & Liz the Managers were very helpful and friendly and gave us lots of tips on where to go and what to do. Unlike some places we stayed they recognised we valued our privacy and were not at all overbearing. Very quiet location within 2 minutes walk of restaurants and the wharf for excursions but away from the noise and bustle on the seafront. We had everything we needed and appreciated the complimentary breakfast basket they provided as we arrived late and were not able to shop so we had something to eat before going shopping the next day. Cant understand previous review about using previous guests toiletries - yuk. Much preferred that Abri provided individual soaps, shampoos etc. More hygenic!! Would definitely return and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trekker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.3 km away
Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia)
0.8 km away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abri Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abri Apartments

Property: Abri Apartments
Address: 10/12 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,864 - ₹ 11,728
Hotel Class:4 star — Abri Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abri Apartments has two unique chalets individually set apart for total privacy featuring awesome sea views, open plan living, double spa bath & full kitchen facilities. Nestled amongst the trees in a sub-tropical garden away from busy roads, the apartment / chalets are totally private and look out over the Bay of Islands towards Russell and beyond ..... Also available is a one bedroom Suite with a Super King or Twin Bed option, sea views, kitchenette and shower facilities. The three accommodation units each offer the comfort of a home away from home; each with their own private entrance, a deck with wonderful sea views and a BBQ; plus luxurious details to surprise you during your stay. The apartments are spacious and tastefully furnished with comfortable lounge and dining areas. It is an easy 3 minute stroll to the beach or into central Paihia Township where you will find a variety of shops, cafes, and restaurants; as well as to the Paihia Wharf where all of the Bay of Islands dolphin tours and scenic cruises depart. All this makes Abri Apartments an ideal location for a romantic holiday retreat for couples; plus being the ideal location to base yourself while you explore the many spectacular sights and activities of the Bay of Islands. * Complimentary Car Parking * Competitive Seasonal Rates * Free WiFi * Complimentary Guest Laundry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abri Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abri Apartments Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing