We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hosts and Perfect Location”
Review of Anchor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchor House
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the second day of our weeks holiday, and we already feel compelled to write a review. I think what has pleased us the most are our hosts, Elaine and Jim, who really cannot do enough to make you feel welcome and at home - home made cake even arrived this morning! The apartment is very well appointed, clean and comfortable, with a sea view out into the bay. The town of Paihia is a good walk away, so easier to drive, or in our case ride. We would highly recommend Anchor House to anyone. Thank you Elanine and Jim.

Room Tip: The 3 apartments are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Manxman1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017

How to describe Anchor House in one word? -Fantastic! Beautifully located, stunning views with clean and cosy accommodation. Hosts were phenomenal, welcoming and incredibly friendly.

I had originally planned to visit Paihai with my cousin but unfortunately his plans changed and he flew home early. I dealt mainly with Elaine who was so lovely and caring. She was extremely helpful when it came to arranging transport, she even made sure that the tour I had booked for the second day picked me up from nearby. This was so that I did not have to walk in to town on my own in the early hours. I feel that she went above and beyond to make my time in Paihia as relaxing and memorable as possible.

I can't rate this B&B highly enough. My only regret is that I did not stay there longer! Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MitziWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The unit was excellent, comfortable and spotless and we were guttered that we couldn't stay longer
Amazing friendly host are Elaine and Jim
Elaine even offered to drive us over the hill to town the next morning but we adventured around the foreshore instead (great scenic walk to town and would recommend to others)
We would have stayed longer but could only book one night as their units were already pre booked out the following night and now I see why
They were so accommodating and even let us to store our riding gear and motorbike that next day while we out explored Paihia

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Darryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

This B & B was recommended to us by some other travellers. It's has a lovely lookout to the ocean and is equipped with all you need. Hosts are lovely and welcoming and provide a continental style breakfast in your room.

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

we have stayed in this B &B quite a few times now,which was recommended by Auckland friends,so have come to know the hosts, Elaine and Jim, very well. we travel up to PAihIa a lot through the summer months,so we book ahead for 6 months at a time,and they are always ready for us to arrive,and greet us like old friends.

Room Tip: 3 units sea views,2 queen beds 1 2 X king singles These can be linked. the rooms are spotless,well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sjm733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.7 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
651 reviews
1.9 km away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
3.7 km away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.8 km away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
1.6 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor House

Address: 6 Kowhai Crescent, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: ₹ 4,965 - ₹ 5,739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are owner operators who have been in the hospitality and tourism industry for over twenty years. We have three quality self-contained studio units. Two have queen sized beds and one has 2 single beds. Each has a bathroom ensuite. We are in a lovely, quiet location with sea views and a two minute walk to the beach. Paihia town centre is a 2 minute drive away, or 20 minute walk. Situated within close proximity to all tourist attractions, we are also happy to give advice about how to make the most of your time in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Anchor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor House Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing