We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
13
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandjimhostsviewsbay
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The unit was excellent, comfortable and spotless and we were guttered that we couldn't stay longer
Amazing friendly host are Elaine and Jim
Elaine even offered to drive us over the hill to town the next morning but we adventured around the foreshore instead (great scenic walk to town and would recommend to others)
We would have stayed longer but could only book one night as their units were already pre booked out the following night and now I see why
They were so accommodating and even let us to store our riding gear and motorbike that next day while we out explored Paihia

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Darryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

This B & B was recommended to us by some other travellers. It's has a lovely lookout to the ocean and is equipped with all you need. Hosts are lovely and welcoming and provide a continental style breakfast in your room.

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

we have stayed in this B &B quite a few times now,which was recommended by Auckland friends,so have come to know the hosts, Elaine and Jim, very well. we travel up to PAihIa a lot through the summer months,so we book ahead for 6 months at a time,and they are always ready for us to arrive,and greet us like old friends.

Room Tip: 3 units sea views,2 queen beds 1 2 X king singles These can be linked. the rooms are spotless,well maintained and modern.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sjm733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We had a great stay at the Anchor House made even better by the kindness of the hosts Elaine and Jim. The room was very comfortable and clean. The town of Paihia is a short walk away either along the road or along the beach when the tide is out. There is a lovely beach just across the road which is very quiet and it seems mainly used by the locals. A perfect spot to relax and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank birgitcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014

Awesome little place! Definitely worth the few minutes drive from the main centre. We found Anchor House last minute before deciding to get away for a night and we were so glad we did - just wish the stay was longer! It's the cutest little spot with a great garden view (and a water view in the near distance). As I've seen mentioned on here previously the pictures seriously don't do the place justice! It's lovely and clean (not a dirty spot to complain about), comfortable beds, every utility you need for a few days away and to top it all off lovely owners, super friendly and helpful as well. Not a single complaint, would highly recommend for a cute little getaway for young couples (or older) or anyone else after a decent place to stay.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms - each has the same great view, only difference is if you're after twin, queen bed etc.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews