We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite stay during my 3 week NZ trip!”
Review of Anchor House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchor House
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 12 March 2017

How to describe Anchor House in one word? -Fantastic! Beautifully located, stunning views with clean and cosy accommodation. Hosts were phenomenal, welcoming and incredibly friendly.

I had originally planned to visit Paihai with my cousin but unfortunately his plans changed and he flew home early. I dealt mainly with Elaine who was so lovely and caring. She was extremely helpful when it came to arranging transport, she even made sure that the tour I had booked for the second day picked me up from nearby. This was so that I did not have to walk in to town on my own in the early hours. I feel that she went above and beyond to make my time in Paihia as relaxing and memorable as possible.

I can't rate this B&B highly enough. My only regret is that I did not stay there longer! Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MitziWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2017

The unit was excellent, comfortable and spotless and we were guttered that we couldn't stay longer
Amazing friendly host are Elaine and Jim
Elaine even offered to drive us over the hill to town the next morning but we adventured around the foreshore instead (great scenic walk to town and would recommend to others)
We would have stayed longer but could only book one night as their units were already pre booked out the following night and now I see why
They were so accommodating and even let us to store our riding gear and motorbike that next day while we out explored Paihia

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Darryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

This B & B was recommended to us by some other travellers. It's has a lovely lookout to the ocean and is equipped with all you need. Hosts are lovely and welcoming and provide a continental style breakfast in your room.

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

we have stayed in this B &B quite a few times now,which was recommended by Auckland friends,so have come to know the hosts, Elaine and Jim, very well. we travel up to PAihIa a lot through the summer months,so we book ahead for 6 months at a time,and they are always ready for us to arrive,and greet us like old friends.

Room Tip: 3 units sea views,2 queen beds 1 2 X king singles These can be linked. the rooms are spotless,well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sjm733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We had a great stay at the Anchor House made even better by the kindness of the hosts Elaine and Jim. The room was very comfortable and clean. The town of Paihia is a short walk away either along the road or along the beach when the tide is out. There is a lovely beach just across the road which is very quiet and it seems mainly used by the locals. A perfect spot to relax and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank birgitcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.9 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
2.0 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
4.2 km away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
1.7 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
635 reviews
1.9 km away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor House

Address: 6 Kowhai Crescent, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: ₹ 5,277 - ₹ 6,189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are owner operators who have been in the hospitality and tourism industry for over twenty years. We have three quality self-contained studio units. Two have queen sized beds and one has 2 single beds. Each has a bathroom ensuite. We are in a lovely, quiet location with sea views and a two minute walk to the beach. Paihia town centre is a 2 minute drive away, or 20 minute walk. Situated within close proximity to all tourist attractions, we are also happy to give advice about how to make the most of your time in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor House Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing