We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“spacious and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of At the Rocks Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
At the Rocks Motor Lodge
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“spacious and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

on arrival at the Rocks we were not disappointed. Our room was ready to go and we were greeted warmly. We were shown the room and found that a portacot had been supplied which we had not asked for. A nice touch. We had our own portacot but were offered a highchair instead. The room was very clean and surprisingly spacious for this sort of complex. The bathroom was huge! And there was plenty of room to put the baby down on the floor to play and not feel cramped.
The host was very welcoming and friendly and pointed out local places to dine on a map and asked what attactions we were wanting to see and marked these on the map for us also.
We had major road works happening on the main road outside when we arrived which concerned me at first, but we really couldn't hear them from the room and even though posititioned on a main road we had no issues with road noise during our stay.
Would definately recommend at the rocks and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberH_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    27
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
66
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed at the Rocks Motor Lodge in Napier last week .One of the best places we have stayed. Very clean and had everything we needed. The owners were lovely.Very helpful with everything.
It is the first time we had been away from Christchurch since last June and I was very unsure about going away incase anything happened back home. Once we were in Napier at our Motel I felt relaxed .We had only booked for 2 nights but ended up staying 5 before heading to Wellington.
We will definately be going back next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nissChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

The motel is situated on the main road into town but traffic noise was not a problem. A fish & chip restaurant is a short walk away but you will need to drive into town for cafes, restaurants.and shops.

We were warmly greeted by the owner who gave us information on the local area. Our room had been recently refurbished and windows at both ends of the room made it light and airy. Patio doors led out onto a secluded decked area which had a double seat plus attached table. My wife and I sat outside and enjoyed the afternoon sun while having a drink of wine. The bed was very comfortable.

The bathroom was large and had a roll-top bath. A large separate shower area in the opposite corner was enclosed by a tiled wall and curtain. The shower head was fixed and offered adjustable spray settings. Everything was modern and worked well.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iantravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Booked and paid online for a mini room but on arrival we were upgraded to queen with spa. Super owners, friendly and helpful. Room was spotless. Can't fault it.

Room Tip: I'd advise asking for a room away from the road if sleep is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenmaryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

This was a very clean and well designed motel. An amazing spa bath that had a lot of use in the time that we were there. Adored the managers Dave and Jan, really friendly and made us feel at home. It had a private outdoor area if you are a smoker or just wanted some fresh air. We loved the 2 tv's great for a couple that have different tastes. All and all a great stay and I would go back any day.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 km away
Bluewater Hotel
Bluewater Hotel
#37 of 48 in Napier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.9 km away
East Pier Hotel
East Pier Hotel
#21 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.7 km away
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Anchorage Motor Lodge
#32 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sunset Court Motel
Sunset Court Motel
#34 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 km away
Marineland Motels
Marineland Motels
#25 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 km away
Fairley Motor Lodge
Fairley Motor Lodge
#13 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Rocks Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Rocks Motor Lodge

Property: At the Rocks Motor Lodge
Address: 27 Meeanee Quay, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,530 - ₹ 8,466
Hotel Class:4.5 star — At the Rocks Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Qualmark 4 plus star motel featuring modern deluxe studio, executive and family rooms with relaxing spa baths, romantic clawfoot baths and private gym. Situated adjacent to Ahuriri Estuary and close to Napier's West Quay with wonderful waterfront dining, bars and cafe's, and still only 5 minutes from Napier City Centre and Airport. We are only 80 metres from a safe swimming beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your At the Rocks Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing