We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience National Aquarium
from US$ 60.30
More Info
from US$ 80.40
More Info
Reviews (1,229)
Filter reviews
1,229 results
Traveller rating
475
473
224
39
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
473
224
39
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews penguin feeding marine life blue penguins feeding times main tank big tank kiwi enclosure shark tank moving walkway sea creatures rainy day kids and adults entry fee worth a visit couple of hours new zealand great for kids
Filter
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 1,229 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Lovely aquarium which can be experienced in around 2 hours. Variety of wildlife to see, including penguins!

Thank dcy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

The penguins are always popular and so to are our Kiwi, who are a pleasant surprise for many as they are not your usual aquarium exhibit. Thank you for visiting the National Aquarium of New Zealand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Spent 1.5 hrs with twins (5) there after 6 hrs at ocean spa. Excellent stop for both sunny and rainy days. Not too big or exhausting.

Thank Tokay74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We visited with two 5 year olds and they enjoyed it. Plenty of fish and the tunnel where they swim overhead was a hit. We saw the penguins being fed too. It is rather small but what they offer on display is nice. And it is not too pricey.

Thank Steffen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to visit and comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Getting off the cruise ship in Napier, I wondered what to do in town. "Swim with sharks" of course caught my eye! It was only $66 US for 20 minutes, and they had availability later that morning! I signed up and hustled back to the boat to change and grab my husband for photos.

Before the swim, we saw our first two kiwis (nocturnal so always in very dark, quiet displays often hidden away), and our first penguins.

Then I went to put on a cold wet wetsuit, which didn't have a hood or gloves, and entered the reef area with two others. It was FREEZING.

It took some discipline to stop thinking about shivering and enjoy the snorkel with fish, stingray and yes, sharks, all of whom mostly ignored us. I've always loved snorkeling and this was a hoot chasing after them.

The reef display allows for 360-degree viewing, but with the murky water, dense glass and low lighting, it's nearly impossible to photograph well.

The three of us got out at the same time. When the worker said, you still have eight minutes, we all said through chattering teeth, no thanks.

Another bucket list item checked.

Thank Mei-Mei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Great to see you took the plunge and did a swim with the sharks. Its nice to know we could help check off a must do on the bucket list. Thanks for sharing your experience with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Hadn't visited for a few years, but not a lot had changed from my memory. We managed to make it in time for the penguin feeding. That was pretty cool. But the rest of the visit didn't actually take that long. I wondered if we had missed a section... But no, we hadn't. The walk through part is of course the best bit. Love looking for the sharks as they glide over. I know they have special days when you can watch divers inside with the animals, unfortunately, not on days I have visited. With children I'm sure it is a nice day out, but for two adults, it's something to tick off Napier's list.

Thank Robyn_256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Appreciate the feedback and you sharing your experience. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews