We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a rainy day”
Review of National Aquarium

National Aquarium
Ranked #7 of 74 things to do in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the national Aquarium, Marine Parade, Napier.Te Whare Tangaroa O Aotearoa New Zealand's largest display of aquatic life and unique New Zealand wildlife, including sharks, stingrays, living coral, kiwi, tuatara and a huge range of fish species. A fun and educational place to visit for all the family. Located in Napier, the National Aquarium is one of the premier Hawke's Bay Tourist Attractions. Opening Hours: Daily from 9.00am - 5.00pm, last entry 4:30pm, closed Christmas Day
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Yes, there was a rainy day in Napier! Lots of marine life to get up close with. Lots of variety and just loved watching the little penguins swimming around. The pool full of swimming turtles was awesome. Kids loved it - especially the sharks.

Thank jodie_trubshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2017

The aquarium is presented well with creative displays. My partner and I paid extra to do the penguin encounter which was very informative about the great care for these little animals and of course was very special feeding them some fish! Highly recommended!

Thank Svetllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Awesome to hear your Penguin Encounter was special and you would recommend it. Close Encounters really are a great way to experience so much more when visiting the National Aquarium. Thank you for sharing this with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Some friends and I walked down to the aquarium and were pleasantly surprised. Great kids show for the feeding of the fish was entertaining to us as well. lots of interactive areas and very well curated exhibits.

Thank elsner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

This was on my 10 year olds daughters 'list to do'

We enjoyed our time out of the sun and it was nice to be reminded of all the marine animals and their backgrounds. We paid for entry and noted that there were no tickets given for entry, no maps or information from the counter. (which was slightly annoying once we realised had we gone straight to the penguins we would have been there for feeding time) I did think to myself a couple of times "Wonder when that was last cleaned?" I know it was the school holidays but I was meaning 'inside the tank'.

We were excited to spot the two kiwis eating and walking around :)

Maybe a donation box to help get that giant turtle a bigger swimming area?

1  Thank amberkelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Thanks for your feedback. It is very unusual not to be offered a map or informed of feeding sessions coming up when going through admission as this is our policy to do so. If this was not the case on your visit then please accept our sincerest apologies. The giant turtle is Terry, a Hawk Billed Turtle and his shell length is around 70cm. He currently lives in a 90,000 litre tank, which on average is about the amount of water required to fill two large domestic inground swimming pools. Terry is unable to be put in our main Oceanarium as he is from a tropical climate, and thus requires heated water to survive. The larger the tank, the more difficult it is to heat. In the wild he would live in a lagoon or next to a reef, and if food is plentiful (as in the Aquarium), he would stay in one place. The opposite are pelagic turtles, such as the character Crush popularised in the movie 'Finding Nemo' - these species do travel large distances. All our animals and exhibits are cared for and maintained to the highest standards including regular cleaning of tanks. We are also monitored by many proffessional organisations who are satisfied with the level of care we provide. Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed seeing the Kiwi and we appreciate you taking the time to visit us and comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

We visited on 16th Jan 2017 and absolutely loved it! All staff were so friendly and helpful and great with kids. Will definately return next stay in Napier. Prices are reasonable too which is great when travelling with a family.

Thank kekenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Aquarium also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to National Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing