We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Our best meal in Napier” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emporium Eatery & Bar

Emporium Eatery & Bar
Ranked #9 of 194 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 28
Cuisines: Bar, International, European, Wine Bar, New Zealand, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Emporium Eatery and Bar is the latest addition to Art Deco Masonic Hotel, and to buzzing inner city Napier. Designed by reputed restaurant designer Tom Skyring, Emporium has a truly unique look and feel – rich leathers, a stunning marble bar, warm wood and just the right amount of Art Deco. Emporium mixes the modern with the classic, to create a very special atmosphere in this iconic heritage building.Emporium isn’t just a bar, and it’s more than an exciting new restaurant, it’s a meeting place. With a menu meant for sharing, and the most extensive beverage list around, Emporium is just the spot to gather friends, family or colleagues to enjoy the finest in Hawke’s Bay hospitality. Ideal for functions, Emporium has optional group spaces available – including Poet’s Corner, a private space overlooking bustling Tennyson Street and picturesque Marine Parade.Long, leisurely breakfasts, lunches and dinners, or delicious all-day grazing with a glass of fine wine or a cocktail or beer from our impressive collection – this is how many a fine Hawke’s Bay day or evening are sure to be spent as the weather warms up. Check out our menus to whet your appetite, still prepared under the creative and skillful hands of Cliff Fernandes of Art Deco Masonic's MED fame, and we’ll see you soon at Emporium.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Napier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We enjoyed our evening at Med. Nice menu, great wine list and friendly staff. Nice central location on the main drag in Napier. We were able to walk over to the restaurant from our B&B. We had a very nice relaxing evening and were happy our Innkeeper suggested this place for dinner.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pwtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    347
    76
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
“A M A Z I N G !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Big thanks to Med for an awesome night out. Food was exceptional 10points to the chef, couldnt fault it and staff were fantastic, nothing was a problem. Recommend to all, we will be back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Good food at a good price. Friendly service. Pleasant atmosphere although not busy

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pernicketyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

I enjoy writing reviews like this. We came here on the basis of other trip adviser reviews and had a fabulous meal.
The following comments may sound as though I have accepted a bribe from the restaurant, but I haven't!
I had calamari curls to start which was the best I have had - loads of flavour and cooked to perfection. This was followed by rack of lamb. Wow. We have been in NZ now 3 weeks and this was the best - at first I thought it may have been overcooked, but it was cooked to perfection and the quality and the tenderness of the meat was very memorable.
The presentation of the food was also very very good, for instance on my lamb the bones had been cleaned beautifully.
My wife had pâté with toasted brioche and thought this went perfectly with the pate.
We wished we would have had room for dessert.
To accompany food we went for the tasting menu which we thought a great idea. 4 different wines and there are 3 different choices to choose from, and they are all locally sourced wines from Hawkes Bay. A really fun way for us to taste a variety of local wines. The selection we chose was priced at 21 dollars which, for decent measures, seemed reasonable value.
Friendly and welcoming although our waiter seemed as though he was fairly new, but certainly didn't detract from our enjoyment of the evening. Nice ambience in the room with gentle 'buzz'.
We heard the message that the chef 'was in a bad mood' that night but it clearly didn't affect the cooking! Hopefully he'll cheer up with some of the positive comments he/she is receiving.
Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank jimmy55bellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A special evening enhanced by a special meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and wanted a special evening. As a vegetarian it is not always easy to find a restaurant that meets your needs but after much research it was decided that the Med bar ticked all the boxes.
A nice location, a fabulous building, intimate dining, several non pasta vegetarian options and something different for dessert.
We certainly hit the jackpot!
The risotto balls (vege) were divine
The red pepper wellington (vege) delicious, even the meat eater thought so.
The baklava amazing and the something different we were looking for.
All the staff went out of their way to make our night enjoyable the price was reasonable and we left feeling happy and content.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThomKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emporium Eatery & Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Emporium Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing