We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$ 204
PricelineUS$ 204
Agoda.comUS$ 204
TripadvisorUS$ 204
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
45
13
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
45
13
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet street yogurt the river little touches comfortable bed new zealand walking distance to town other guests the kitchen caroline host bedroom netflix kitchenette accommodation desk bath
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2020

We fell in love with this house, we wanted to pack it up and take with us. We arrived to a beautiful sunny warm room with an amazing en-suite. We had a really great experience and this was complemented with the fun we had with the other guests at breakfast time. The host was fantastic and made us feel so welcome. 5 star stay from us with the best sleep ever.
Thanks Jane.

Room tip: West side en-suite room over looking the pool we recommend.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cheyennekiwinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Mitchell, Owner at Cedar House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for staying Cheyenne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2020 via mobile

This lovely, character place promised much, and yet still managed to exceed our expectations. The location is excellent - you can walk in to the downtown area easily, and yet the area is residential, quiet and relaxed. The house oozes character and charm. Our room was large, beautifully appointed with lots of natural light and a pleasant outlook. It was a great space for working in too, with a table and chair at the right height. We chose a room with a bath, which was perfect in the middle of winter. The bed was very comfortable, there was a couch in the bay window and a heat pump. The small guests’ kitchen down the hall offered pod coffee, quality teas, and there were some sweet treats left out for us. There is a pleasant upstairs balcony where we sat out with a cup of tea. Lots of nice touches - water by the bed, beer and wine in the kitchen, the very best of toiletries in the en-suite bathroom. Off street parking and great hosts. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MichelleS948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Mitchell, Owner at Cedar House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for staying Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2020 via mobile

We stayed at this upmarket b& b for two night. The hosts were friendly knowledgeable and very welcoming. Our room was beautiful and the bathroom exceptional. The breakfast was simple but delicious. On top of this there were little touches that exceeded expectations and will draw guests back again and again. Such as chocolates on the bedside table. A guest kitchenette with complimentary homemade biscuits nespresso coffee and wine beer and potato chips
We will be back next time we are in gisborne. Great value for the price

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WendyMcEntegart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Mitchell, Owner at Cedar House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Wendy....hope to see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2020 via mobile

We loved everything about our three day,
mid-winter, post-Covid-19 stay at Cedar House in Gisborne. Such a comfortable bed, cotton sheets, clean and sparkling bathroom, warm and spacious dining and sitting rooms... Delicious breakfast, including toast with Jane’s homemade marmalade, organic eggs, followed by coffee, just how we like it! Saturday’s Farmers Market is just around the corner, across the road is Tairawhiti Gisborne Museum, and just over the bridge and you’re in downtown. Thank you Jane and Rob, for being such wonderful hosts. We can’t wait to return! Rose & Matthew, Blenheim.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 226rosem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Mitchell, Owner at Cedar House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

You were our first review Rose and I have just worked out how to own my business on TripAdvisor....finally ! x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2020

This a B&B to rival any luxury hotel. Everything about it, location, service, accommodation, food was simply first class. Walking distance to town and amenities. Perfectly situated for exploring the local area.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank reeveja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews