We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and excellent food”
Review of Prego Restaurant

Prego Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 2,467 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: outdoor dining, Take out available, Full menu all day and night.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Decided to go to Prego after googling best restaurants for kids.. Prego came up. It is in Ponsonby which has a really cool vibe. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. It was very busy at only 6pm with families. Our kids loved the spaghetti and chicken breast. My eye fillet was cooked very well. Our food was just delicious. This place is really good!!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank KelP684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018

I went with my bf for the lunch. We ordered pizza and gnocchi. We have to say that the taste was just bland and the size of the gnocchi was very ridiculous, for the gnocchi I just had 10 small pieces of potato with some nuts. Pizza was not amazing, just ok. However we think both dishes were overprice in relation to the quality. We definitely do not think we will be going back there.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank angellygob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Amazing. Everything we got was a 11/10 I got he pepperoni pizza and it was amazing and irresistible stretchy cheese

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank JDG159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Now that Prego has been in business for 36.5 years, one needs to look at the reasons for its success & longevity on the competitive Ponsonby Rd strip.
The food has always been of a consistently high standard, the ambience created by the staff, of many differing nationalities over the years, very welcoming.
Having been a regular visitor from Melbourne over the years, it was a pleasure to return for dinner today & once more be blown away by the service provided by our server Vicki ! This a consummate professional, calm, attentive, intuitive & anticipatory, one who made the dining experience special & unique.
Congratulations Vicki -to will continue to please your customers. And well done tonthe Prego recruitment team who continue to source high quality staff who maintain & enhance the restaurant’s reputation !

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Emjay2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We've been big fans of Prego over the years and decided to bring our best friends for a celebratory meal out last night. And everything was a disaster! The French waitress was very unfriendly, our meals were COLD (linguini and two lambs, the risotto was OK), no a fan of cold meat and I have to say that the size was also ridiculous. We had to request multiple times that we wanted water, we were never offered the dessert menu, asked for it and go the bill instead. Oh, and that bill! In a dinner for four, they tried to sneak in 5 (YES FIVE!) things that we hadn't ordered - when we mentioned that they had put a few extras, they were able to easily notice what wasn't ours, so why don't you review the bill before giving it to the customer or was that intentional? Extremely dissapointed!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Juanenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prego Restaurant also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Prego Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing