We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Blue House
Nearby Hotels
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$ 196
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$ 195
US$ 171
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$ 157
US$ 117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

City Lodge(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$ 91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
    US$ 137
    US$ 131
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
    US$ 142
    US$ 111
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
    US$ 157
    US$ 129
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
    US$ 187
    US$ 101
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Fitness centre
    • Free Internet
    Kiwi International Hotel(Auckland Central)
    US$ 43
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    YMCA Hostel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
    US$ 49
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Reviews (11)
    Filter reviews
    11 results
    Traveller rating
    5
    4
    1
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    5
    4
    1
    1
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 11 reviews
    Reviewed 28 January 2016

    We had stayed in a B & B in the Bay of Islands for same price at the start of our trip and we were very disappointed when we stayed here at the end of our holiday. No comparison in service and quality of the rooms. Bad communication from owners that they were not going to be there during our stay.

    • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Jacqui P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Kate P, Owner at Big Blue House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

    Hi Jacqui
    I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We work hard to make our guests comfortable and look after them. I was away when you came but had left the house in good hands. We usually let guests know we will be away but it must have slipped my mind this time what with Christmas and getting away on holiday. I'm glad you had a good time in New Zealand and hope your visit to Auckland went well, kind regards, Kate.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 May 2015

    I always stay here on my trips to Auckland. Kate and Lynne provide a wonderful personal service without being too obtrusive...And it's great value! Heartily recommended! There's a great little coffee shop down the road too..

    • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank James B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 March 2015

    We have stayed here on more than one occasion and loved it ! The rooms were clean and comfortable and it is very much what it says on the tin !! A "homestay" but with the VERY best hospitality ever! The other facilities are just the icing on the cake to what was a lovely place to stay which is pretty much central for most sight seeing. We will be visiting our family there again next year so this may well be on our list of peaceful, just us, retreats !!

    Room Tip: The large Ensuite room on the front corner is great for either just a couple or it is easily big enough to be a family room.
    • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank AnnBish
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 August 2012

    I travelled with 2 children from the UK to NZ and stayed here for just over 2 weeks... the ladies were very accomodating and friendly, always asking if we had everything we needed and suggesting things to do for the kids. We had the big room upstairs, with views over Grey Lynn and down to the ocean, beautiful! There is a fridge in the room and drink making facilites which was useful but we could help ourselves to drinks, fruit and yoghurts from the fridge downstairs any time. The room also has sky tv and a selection of books to borrow as well as 2 single beds and a double, the room was also en-suite, all nicely presented and clean. The lounge downstairs is huge and the swimming pool and hot tub were excellent for an afternoons entertainment for the kids when sightseeing got too much..
    Breakfast always came with a fresh baked loaf of bread, cereals and plenty of fruit and yoghurts and freshly brewed coffee and teas.
    Overall, a lovely quiet house in a great area for exploring Auckland... Grey Lynn park is in walking distance, there is a good bus service and its close to the local shops.

    • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Cerveza-y-sol
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 April 2012

    The ladies of the Big Blue House went out of their way to make me feel welcome in their house and in Auckland - I couldn't have had a better start there! They were very helpful and friendly. I liked the room very much, it was spacious and clean. And the towels there were the thickest and softest I ever had! *lol*

    • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank CuddleKatl
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews