We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunderland House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Auckland Central
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Abaco On Jervois(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acapulco Motel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Unicorn Motel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Quest Ponsonby(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
The Surrey Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Apollo Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
227
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Sunderland House is just as fantastic as ever. We stayed here for a second time (first time was about 4 years ago), and it was just as lovely as our previous visit. We stayed in the pink room (or "premier suite") this time, the largest of the rooms - beautifully decorated and with a small balcony, port and chocolates waiting for us in the room, home-baked bread and muffins at breakfast, and fresh made cake in the afternoon. You will not find a nicer place to stay in Auckland. Thank you again, Donald and Kathy. We can't wait for our third visit.

Room Tip: Rooms are all similarly quiet and peaceful, all have good wifi. The premier suite is significantly bigger than the other rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatsobek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

Quite simply - this is the only place you'll want to stay when you visit this beautiful city.

The location is perfect as are the rooms (I managed to see them all!), the service is incredible, the hosts are delightfully charming and the breakfasts are better than any hotel I've ever stayed at.

Cross your fingers it isn't fully booked!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
Thank Jonathan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

We stayed 2 separate nights during a week on the north island, in the Green and Red rooms. Really loved this place.

The hosts were super friendly - very interested in what we were doing and how we were enjoying enjoying our time in the country. They also had some great suggestions on the area (restaurants, etc) and some places to stop while we drove around NZ.

Rooms were maybe a bit small but not cramped, even with a lot of luggage. Beds were really comfy. Location is great - secluded and quiet but very close to the good restaurant areas around Ponsonby and not too far from the city center either. Breakfast was incredible - everything homemade, beautiful setting, and so hearty that we didn't need lunch either day.

Best thing was that we really appreciated the attention to detail. Port and chocolates on arrival, homemade cookies/treats, making their own bread for toast rather than store bought, etc. Little things put it over the top. Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank astaplet82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

My husband and I loved our stay here and totally recommend anyone to stay here.
The house is exquisitely decorated, cozy and in a really nice location. The couple couldn't be nicer and so very helpful. The breakfast was amazing. We only wish we'd stayed longer!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Wonderfully appointed B&B with high quality furnishings and tasteful decor. The hosts Donald and Kathy do a great job making their guests feel welcome and providing information on the various Auckland attractions and restaurants. Donald also provided valuable information in advance on of our trip with advice on transport from the airport and hire car company recommendations. The breakfast was excellent served alfresco in a charming garden area.
Location may be a drawback if you are not using a car, although the bus stop is a short walk away and buses are cheap and regular. Donald also recommended a very pleasant walk along the waterfront into central Auckland which takes around 45 minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pendle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews