We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
130
124
69
47
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
124
69
47
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudio apartmentwashing machinequeen streetgreat locationfull kitchensmall balconycentral locationvector arenashort staystayed for nightsalbert parkgood sizewell equipped kitchenbed was comfortablecar parkingfew minutes walkaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Waldorf Bankside is a great place for both a short and a longer stay. It's centrally located, only minutes away from Queen St, the University of Auckland, etc. As it's on the top of a hill, most rooms come with a great view over either Aukland CBD or the ocean. The hotel itself is very well-maintained with spotless rooms, secure entrance and a clean little lobby. The Waldorf Bankside manager is a lovely, kind and exteremly helpful guy and all the staff are exteremly nice people. I really appreciate their stict anti-party policy (i.e. no tolerance for excessive noise in the building) which ensures a great stay and a peaceful sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnFowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Stayed here just prior to the Rugby World Cup and just after Auckland’s first snowfall in 40 years in August 2011. As you can imagine it was cold and unfortunately the apartment was just that, freezing! There was just one small mobile heater for the whole apartment, which unfortunately didn’t really make too much of a difference. Just provided more reasons to go out and explore Auckland for the first time!

The apartment consisted of a double bed, with a kitchen and living area the other side of a partition. The ensuite bathroom had a decent shower and was well decorated. The living area had a small dining table (too small to be of much use if more than one person) and a futon like sofa which was rather uncomfortable as lacked any structure. That said I was pleasantly surprised by how well stocked the kitchen was, including washing machine and dishwasher and just how much apartment you got for your money, as well as the fantastic views of the area. Likewise the apartments are well situated in the centre of Auckland, close to Queen Street, Wynyard Quarter, Britomart and ferry terminals. For short term visitors there was also a gym that could be used nearby, although I never made it there.

There was a mixture of people staying in the apartments, with short-term lets to long-term student rentals. Thankfully the building was pretty quiet and although you could hear your neighbours, it was never too noisy.

Transport wasn’t an issue for me as there is so much public transport nearby but you did have to pay significantly more if you needed car parking facilities and the car park wasn’t onsite.

The guy who ran the apartments at the time was very pleasant and informative. He was incredibly helpful if there was ever a problem. Booking online was also very simple, but beware, they expect payment at the time of checking in and don’t have facilities for credit cards or international debit cards. This might have changed since my stay (hopefully), as I ended up getting out almost $900 in cash and carrying it back to the apartment.

Overall it was a good place to base myself for my first couple of weeks in New Zealand. The price was reasonable but I was out of season (therefore it was significantly cheaper) and came before the RWC price inflation. The heating is an issue in many places in NZ and not unique to Bankside Apartments. I would certainly stay here again if I ever needed a base in Auckland for a couple of weeks and the price was reasonable.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank CadburysFlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

/stayed in October for three nights. Walk up Shortland Street was rather steep especially when we were pulling our cases up as well, next time will catch a Shuttle on the way in and normal bus on way back to Airport. Loved our studio apartment, everything we needed and very clean. Had a slight problem morning of departure, decided to do a load of washing in the front loading washer/dryer, and switched machine off before clothes were dried as we had to check out shortly. Door would not open after a short time so called Reception, two guys arrived to help. Upshot was that as machine was registering hot door would not open but they went beyond the call of duty for us. We were leaving cases with them so they said they would come back when machine had cooled, dry our clothes in their dryers and have them ready when they came back which they did. Really impressed by this. Would have no hesitation staying here again so handy to Britomart, Wynyard Centre, ferries etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Handy location for Auckland Harbour, University and the railway / transport hub. Strange 'industrial' style of building with balconies around a central atrium. Noisy air systems in the public areas. Limited opening hours at reception. Room was not so clean with tired furnishings and fittings. A full kitchen but the cooker and oven were dirty and greasy - not cleaned at all for some time, I fear. Cheap for a city centre - but that's no excuse!

Room Tip: Even numbered floors seem to be further from air systems
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shipyardtales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed at the Waldorf Bankside for a couple of nights while hunting for an apartment upon arrival in Auckland from abroad. We paid $87 a night for a studio apartment, for 2 people in the off-season.

Unfortunately, I was so focused on the business of 'moving in' to Auckland that I failed to take photographs of the room. Suffice to say, the room is as advertised. It is a fairly long narrow room. As you walk in the door, there is a bathroom to the side. It is large and modern, with a shower surround, sink, toilet. Then there is the bedroom area with easily accessible open closet, a queen bed, dresser, and night tables.

There is then a kitchen area with microwave, kettle, dishware, full fridge, oven, cooking hobs, and dishwasher. To the side is a small table with two chairs where you can take your meals.

In the kitchen, there is also a combined washer/dryer.

There is then a small living room area with love seat, coffee table, large flat-screen TV with SKY TV. The living room opens onto a balcony with two small chairs, a table, and - in our case - a nice view of the Sky Tower.

The room has a modern heating/cooling system. You can purchase time online for wireless access. And the room came with thoughtful starters: Coffee, tea, sugar, milk, dishsoap, dishwasher detergent, laundry powder, shampoo, soap.

The location is outstanding, right downtown and just a few minutes' walk to Queen Street.

The staff were very friendly, pleasant, and fair. The room was spotlessly clean, bright, modern, and well-appointed. The street doors are secured and have passkey access.

For the price, the Waldorf Bankside offers outstanding accommodations in a great location. Our only (very very minor) quibble is that there is a phone in the room with advertised free local phone access. But the service had been down for some number of months. We hadn't been made aware of this when we checked in and it took awhile for us to realize that our failure to connect wasn't because we were doing something wrong. Nevertheless, without our own cell phone service in place yet, the lack of a local phone service made apartment-hunting a bit more challenging. But this was off-set by the availability of Wi-Fi in the room.

Notwithstanding this minor quibble, I would HIGHLY recommend the Bankside Waldorf. It is a quiet, comfortable, modern, spacious, fully self-catering apartment in the heart of downtown Auckland, with an unbeatable price and excellent staff. I think that as a permanent living situation, the room might start to feel too small especially for more than one person. But it would make very comfortable accommodations for an extended stay of several weeks in Auckland.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntentToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews