We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Excellent Place to stay”
Review of City Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Towers
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We were very impressed with the City Towers. The owners were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. They also answered our questions about interesting places within walking distance and places to eat. We would definitely recommend City Towers. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, and we had an outside patio which was lovely.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank PatriciaCrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I landed from Canada very early in the morning after a long, nearly sleepless flight. We entertained ourselves quite well for a number of hours but finally felt we needed to brush our teeth and have a shower. City Towers' hosts, Carol and David, out of the goodness of their hearts went out of their way to prioritize preparing our room so they could let us in early. We are so grateful for their kindness!

The room was quiet despite the construction across the parking lot. It was clean and had enough towels. The bed was a bit too soft, but still okay. The info booklet provided in our room was very helpful in assisting us to find something as basic as a grocery store. City Towers' location is good. It is very close to the CBD, a number of parks, buses and a train station. Compared to other places we looked into, City Towers was very good value.

Because our hosts were so very kind we hesitate to say anything but we do have one grumble. The WiFi did not work very well - slow, with a tendency to drop out. This wouldn't be so bad if it were included in the price of the room but it wasn't; there was an additional charge for the WiFi.

In summary, we would stay here again. Can't give a better recommendation than that.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Warm welcome. We stayed two nights. The apartment was never serviced while we were there. Two of us had one small towel each from Monday afternoon till Wednesday 10am. I thought they must have overlooked us but when I told the man at checkout time he said they don't service rooms if you stay for two nights. He wasn't as warm as the lady I met on arrival. No hairdrier. Comfortable bed. Nice and close to Newmarket. Loud building construction outside both mornings. Good sized balcony.

Room Tip: Probably not ground level. Level above has good balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityTowers, Owner at City Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

Hi Lucy, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at City Towers, we really appreciate it. We sometimes find it hard to convey to people that we are 'serviced apartments' and not a hotel, as we service rooms before arrival/weekly and provide fresh towels every 2 to 3 days (unless requested otherwise and we are more than happy to provide more frequent changes). Hairdryers and ironing boards/irons are all available for use. Your feedback tells us we need to do a better job of conveying our offering so there are no surprises or disappointments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We found our room and services provided were great during a period that required us to stay away from home due to medical procedure.
Location of apartment was close to shops and great places to eat out.
The free car parking was a bonus considering parking anywhere else especially at the hospital was no cheap cost....

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 745debrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Although there is nothing drastically negative about this property, I did find it to be tired as far as decor against others of the same or even cheaper nightly rates. I stayed here for a few nights, and it was comfortable and warm, and surprisingly quiet. It is in a good location for walking to the hospital and has a local mall also within walking distance. I did find the shower to be unclean, and a few damaged areas in the walls etc. Good towels were supplied, and the kitchen was well stocked with more than one could need, which was great as I cooked all my meals rather than eat out. Local takeaway restaurants/pizza places, are happy to deliver there, and the taxi company they recommended comes quickly. You have to pay for wifi, but it is not expensive. There is a coin operated laundry which is very handy. All in all, a good basic place to stay, in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisabug1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.8 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
2.1 km away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#34 of 66 in Auckland Central
310 reviews
1 km away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#42 of 66 in Auckland Central
100 reviews
1.6 km away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#27 of 66 in Auckland Central
176 reviews
1.5 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Towers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Towers

Address: 2 Maungawhau Rd. | Newmarket, Auckland Central, Auckland 1003, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Price Range: ₹ 6,017 - ₹ 8,397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, City Towers is a short trip away to Auckand's CBD. A short stroll will also lead you to the vibrant Newmarket, which offers an abundance of shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. Public transport is plentiful within the area. City Towers provides a range of recently re-furbished units including Studio and Garden apartments with self contained kitchens, super king size beds, free car parking and Sky satellite television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Auckland
City Towers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing