We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
23
16
6
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
16
6
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent place to stayauckland domainroom was spaciousmt edenliving areamin walkcar parkwould stay here againmotelkitchenunithostsovenprivacy
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I landed from Canada very early in the morning after a long, nearly sleepless flight. We entertained ourselves quite well for a number of hours but finally felt we needed to brush our teeth and have a shower. City Towers' hosts, Carol and David, out of the goodness of their hearts went out of their way to prioritize preparing our room so they could let us in early. We are so grateful for their kindness!

The room was quiet despite the construction across the parking lot. It was clean and had enough towels. The bed was a bit too soft, but still okay. The info booklet provided in our room was very helpful in assisting us to find something as basic as a grocery store. City Towers' location is good. It is very close to the CBD, a number of parks, buses and a train station. Compared to other places we looked into, City Towers was very good value.

Because our hosts were so very kind we hesitate to say anything but we do have one grumble. The WiFi did not work very well - slow, with a tendency to drop out. This wouldn't be so bad if it were included in the price of the room but it wasn't; there was an additional charge for the WiFi.

In summary, we would stay here again. Can't give a better recommendation than that.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Warm welcome. We stayed two nights. The apartment was never serviced while we were there. Two of us had one small towel each from Monday afternoon till Wednesday 10am. I thought they must have overlooked us but when I told the man at checkout time he said they don't service rooms if you stay for two nights. He wasn't as warm as the lady I met on arrival. No hairdrier. Comfortable bed. Nice and close to Newmarket. Loud building construction outside both mornings. Good sized balcony.

Room Tip: Probably not ground level. Level above has good balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LucyP1529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityTowers, Owner at City Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

Hi Lucy, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at City Towers, we really appreciate it. We sometimes find it hard to convey to people that we are 'serviced apartments' and not a hotel, as we service rooms before arrival/weekly and provide fresh towels every 2 to 3 days (unless requested otherwise and we are more than happy to provide more frequent changes). Hairdryers and ironing boards/irons are all available for use. Your feedback tells us we need to do a better job of conveying our offering so there are no surprises or disappointments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We found our room and services provided were great during a period that required us to stay away from home due to medical procedure.
Location of apartment was close to shops and great places to eat out.
The free car parking was a bonus considering parking anywhere else especially at the hospital was no cheap cost....

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 745debrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Although there is nothing drastically negative about this property, I did find it to be tired as far as decor against others of the same or even cheaper nightly rates. I stayed here for a few nights, and it was comfortable and warm, and surprisingly quiet. It is in a good location for walking to the hospital and has a local mall also within walking distance. I did find the shower to be unclean, and a few damaged areas in the walls etc. Good towels were supplied, and the kitchen was well stocked with more than one could need, which was great as I cooked all my meals rather than eat out. Local takeaway restaurants/pizza places, are happy to deliver there, and the taxi company they recommended comes quickly. You have to pay for wifi, but it is not expensive. There is a coin operated laundry which is very handy. All in all, a good basic place to stay, in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisabug1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Installed an overseas visitor here for a few days to see a bit of Auckland . An excellent location , good value for money , secure off-street free parking , and friendly and most helpful owners and staff all made this a very pleasant place to stay . The accommodation was very clean , and warm and comfortable in all respects . The kitchenette was very well equipped , and the many and varied eateries of Newmarket are a mere 10-15 minutes walk away , should one wish to eat out . The City Towers is well placed for public rail and bus transport , and is within a 20 minute car drive of Auckland's CBD and Downtown attractions , and ''The Domain'' , Auckland's attractive large park , with its large Museum .
The only ( slight ) downside is that some of the fixtures , furnishings and fittings were of a certain age , and some appeared a little ''tired'' in consequence .
Overall , City Towers is to be highly recommended as ''Honest'' accommodation at an attractively competitive price .

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews