We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique luxury B&B. Outstanding in every aspect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cotter House Luxury Retreat
Reviewed 19 February 2011

My wife and I stayed here in November of 2007 at the beginning and end of a 3-week vacation in New Zealand, and I returned again myself for a week for business in October of 2008. The quality of the rooms, furnishings, linens, service and grounds are superb. The location is Remuera, a very nice residential neighborhood about 15 minutes from the Central Business District. The location is ideal if you want to explore Auckland, want a base for day trips, or need a few days of luxury to unwind from a long flight or to cap off physically tiring adventures you may have had in NZ. The building is an historic landmark mansion that is one of the oldest (and nicest) homes in Auckland, with lovely gardens. It is filled with antiques and artwork. Gloria, the owner, is a perfect hostess, a tremendous cook, and a fascinating source of information about NZ. We have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world, and this is certainly the equal of any place we have stayed at, and much less expensive than a Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calvinosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Cotter House Luxury Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2011

Gloria was very friendly and an ex host.
Our breakfast's were made by Gloria, and she served us well with a four course, every morning at the time we wanted.
The rooms are very nice but very antique and cluttered with all the gadgets on show.
Bathroom beautiful although the shower kept going hot and cold.
We didn't bring slippers so Gloria put a brand new pair each in our room.
Location is not too bad if you have a car.
Gloria is full of stories about her life so if you don't mind listening to them while you have your breakfast then that's fine.
It would have been really nice to have gone in winter with the fire burning in our bedroom!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

The Bronze Suite offers all the elegance, privacy and room any couple needs. A luxurious setting, within a quiet retreat. Mixing modern amenities with beautiful antiquities and a wonderful art collection made for a rich experience. The staff were quiet, competent and always available.
Being U.S. citizens, we left all our private wedding plans to our hostess, Gloria Poupard, to guide us for our special event in the ballroom. She performed admirably while sourcing all experts and resources to keep our anxiety tolerable .Her wide ranging creativity managing the celebrant, musicians, photographer culinary/wine side was just marvelous. She obviously has a wealth of knowledge and passion for her New Zealand history. Proximity (2 blocks) to local downtown Remuera brought comfort for last minute restaurants, stores,gifts, etc. This would be a great gem for a family reunion or small conference. Just a very special sanctuary!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequentripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

This tucked away B and B is a hidden gem. After traveling the world and staying in top hotels in Paris, London, Rome, New York, well, Cotter House tops them all. The care put into all the details from the silverware to table cloths to bed linens is supreme. And it maintains a wonderful charm, a perfect spot for anyone to explore Auckland from. The owner Gloria could not be nicer or more accommodating to her guests needs. Also a great place for afternoon tea or private events. I cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackfruitBandit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We had a wonderful 28th wedding anniversary; the place is full of history and pieces of art from all around the world. The atmosphere was very relaxed and worm.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalshWaikato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland Central
0.5 km away
The Devereux Boutique Hotel
5.5 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
4.2 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,521 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,211 reviews
4.3 km away
Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland
Braemar on Parliament Street B&B...
#4 of 64 in Auckland Central
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotter House Luxury Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotter House Luxury Retreat

Address: 2 St Vincent Avenue | Remuera, Auckland Central, Auckland 1050, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: ₹ 26,941 - ₹ 32,563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cotter House Luxury Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotter House, a 5-star Historic Regency 1847 Mansion offering 4 exquisite hi-tech rooms, is a Private Retreat and Art Hotel, with a 1100 sq ft ballroom ideal for honeymoons and weddings, business meetings, conferences and intimate corporate entertaining. In a rare and beautifully secluded heritage setting, guests are offered all modern conveniences: free Wi-Fi, dedicated laptops, Satellite Sky TV, iPod/iPod docks,iPad on request. Guests have direct dial phones while in residence, guest office, and access to in-room Spa treatments, Gym, private pool and Sauna/steam room. Enjoy privacy, charm, ambiance and exquisite food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cotter House Luxury Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotter House Luxury Retreat Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing