We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ponsonby Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ponsonby Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Great hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Ponsonby Backpackers is a great place to stay. It is fun and sociable, but not a 'party' hostel, and as such has quite a diverse clientele. Dorms and share rooms are spacious and no room sleeps more than seven people. The outdoors area is lovely, a big garden with lots of seating, plus a free BBQ and bikes to rent. The staff are extremely friendly and happy to help with any aspect of planning your travels or activities within Auckland - they are very knowledgeable and full of suggestions. The kitchen is well stocked (pots, pans, crockery etc) and there is internet, Sky TV and a book exchange. All the communal areas are kept very clean, and although some of the showers are a bit small it's not enough to put me off staying here! The location, just off Ponsonby Road, is brilliant for the local bars, cafes and restaurants, and it's only a short walk into the city. I would recommend this backpackers to anybody.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    129
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
8
85
162
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I originally came here for 3 nights and I'm still using it as my New Zealand base whilst travelling NZ for the past 3 months...It's run by John & Holly and a bunch of great staff that are very helpful and genuinly interested in helping you plan your itinerary....close to the nice bars and restaurants along Ponsonby Road and and an easy walk to the fast food and alternate bars along 'K Road'...15 minute (downhill !) walk into the city with the 'link bus' stops within 1 minute walk from the hostel...nice gardens, lounge and facilites..I'd definately recommend Ponsonby Backpackers...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Ponsonby Backpackers is the best hostel I have stayed in in New Zealand. Its a cozy, laid back hostel with really friendly staff. The people who run it and work here are very knowledgeable and are always on hand to help you.

The Hostel has a really good atmosphere with a large garden area and a really comfortable lounge area when its too cold to sit in the garden. The rooms are a good size and the beds are comfortable.

I have stayed here numerous times during my trip round New Zealand its almost like a second home.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Worst accommodation we stayed in in 3 weeks. Bed had springs popping through. Carpet was very old and dirty. Showers extremely small. That being said, the staff were very friendly and helpful! And it is right at the end of Francis Street, famous for the Christmas lights. That was a real treat!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBP1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Hi Terri,

Thanks for your feedback. We are very disappointed that you did not feel our accommodation was up to your standards. Many guests review our property as one of the best they've stayed at throughout their travels. We have looked back over your booking and since checked the mattress you deemed to be uncomfortable, there is most definately nothing wrong with the bed and we've had no complaints from any other guests since. This matress was actually quite new having been replaced just 8 weeks before your stay with us. I do wish you would have approached us during your stay here so that we could of perhaps done something more to make your stay compfortable with us rather than leaving this review some time later.

Yes you are correct the lights down Franklin Road are a spectacular sight at christmas time, and we do pride ourselves on having some of the most helpful and accommodating staff. I am glad you enjoyed some aspects of your stay with us.

Thanks

Holly (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thuwal, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Ive been there three times already and always have been a super good experience. I don't know how the manage to create such a nice atmosphere. It just feels like everybody is good friend with everybody. I can say I made real friends there.

The kitchen is cool to use and there is a nice supermarket closeby. The toilets are always clean and the showers are nice. Staff is upper friendly and is located close to most of the fun you can find in Auckland!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.4 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.7 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
1.8 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.1 km away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 107 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.8 km away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponsonby Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsonby Backpackers

Property: Ponsonby Backpackers
Address: 2 Franklin Road | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,282 - ₹ 3,434
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ponsonby Backpackers is a beautiful 19th Century, character villa located right in the heart and soul of trendy Ponsonby filled with swanky boutiques and funky cafes and bars. We invite you to stay in our warm, cosy and spotlessly clean rooms, with welcoming and spacious communal areas that create the real feeling and vibe of your home away from home. Our award winning staff are the friendliest in town and are happy to give you all the information and advice you need for starting your NZ adventures! Travellers ourselves we know what backpackers want and look for in a place to call home, a true kiwi oasis. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ponsonby Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponsonby Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Ponsonby Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing