We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$160
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Traveluro
Official Hotel
$142
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com$161
travelup.com
Hotels.com$161
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,610)
Filter reviews
1,610 results
Traveller rating
1,176
302
88
31
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,176
302
88
31
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft suite art deco corner bar fabulous hotel comfortable bed the heart of the city central location auckland atrium lounge furnishings britomart viaduct
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,610 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2022

A reliable hotel for a holiday to Auckland. Very clean and deeply comfortable rooms with professional staff who are very hospitable, caring and thoughtful. We stayed for 4 nights and the services are really worth to penny. highly recommended

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthogarth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights for work and this boutique hotel is centrally located. Room was nice and clean. Check in was fast and friendly.
Car parking is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel and if you don’t know Auckland well, it can be quite confusing looking for the car parking station .
Went to the restaurant for breakfast twice and one of the mornings service was literally non existence. There were 5 of us waiting for someone to serve us and no body was around, eventually someone had to get the chef out from the kitchen.
Overall nice hotel with comfortable clean room and great location. Yes I will come back.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Fasted09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma Jenkins, Marketing at Hotel DeBrett, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Thank you Fasted09 for taking the time to review your stay, very happy to hear you will return. I really appreciate you commenting on the restaurant service, this is disappointing to hear and not to our DeBretts standard, but it is very helpful to know so have the opportunity to address with our team. Do let us know when you are making the trip over again. Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2021 via mobile

Fantastic room both times. Fantastic staff. Genuine service to put us at ease. Attention to detail. Deeply comfortable. Wonderful conversations about how to mix the perfect Negroni. Wonderful fillet mignon. Wonderful hapuka. Wonderful pork belly entree. Wonderful sleep. Wonderful music and ambience . A Bath from heaven. A real gem of a place. The house bar is still the best bar in Auckland and I’m fairly qualified to say that having worked my way through Uni in the mid 1980s myself. Impeccable -thank you.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JAChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma Jenkins, Marketing at Hotel DeBrett, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Thank you JAChild for taking the time to review your stays and for your kind words, so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We are blessed with some really wonderful staff. Do let us know when you are planning to return again. Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2021

We stayed here as a birthday treat, and were not disappointed. We were upgraded to a gorgeous room with sittingroom and mezzanine bedroom AND had a lovely handwritten birthday card from staff waiting in the room when we arrived, such a heartwarming touch. We had dinner with family at the deBrett's restaurant which was perfect - all in all a fabulous stay - thank you deBrett hotel and staff.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 950teresaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma Jenkins, Marketing at Hotel DeBrett, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Thank you 950teresaw for your lovely review. So happy to hear you had a wonderful birthday stay with us, we hope you can make it an annual affair. Do let us know when you are planning to return to DeBretts. Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2021

Sorry, but for whatever reason (maybe the disgrace that is Auckland CBD) the shine has worn off. The Minister of War and I booked a confirmed package that included; free parking, breakfast, and a room upgrade. Let me start - the carpark is only suitable for narrow high-riding vehicles, our car bottomed on the way in and nose-dived on the way out, scraping the undercarriage, no serious damage that I know of. It is also only secure from 11 pm to 10 am and is open to anyone with malicious or criminal intent. Ok, next the room upgrade - there wasn't one, apparently only on availability (which wasn't stated in the confirmation email). The so-called member's bar - the car attendant was aloof and to be blunt rude, not like his counterpart who manages the corner bar who was very engaging. The restaurant and lounge area, was dull, tired, noisy, and clearly, in need of a refurb and deco rethink. Plus's, the rooms are always clean and comfortable and management were kind enough not to charge us the full rate. I don't know what is happening in Auckland city but it has lost it's mojo.

Room tip: Check the package deals and get written confirmation, and also check the free parking to see if your vehicle is suited.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Terence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma Jenkins, Marketing at Hotel DeBrett, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Thank you Terence W for taking the time to review your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and nor did Auckland CBD. With borders closed for over 12months, and no sign of opening anytime soon, we are definitely missing the buzz that our international tourists bring to the city, and hope that we can all welcome them back to our beautiful country again and soon. I appreciate you highlighting your experiences with the carpark, our hotel site dates back to 1841 so we do not have the fortune of our own car park, but I have passed on your comments to the carpark we work with for their consideration. Very happy to hear you found our guest rooms clean and comfortable and my colleagues proactive bill amendment due to the upgrade not being available. We hope you might give us the opportunity to try again in the future. Do let us know if you do plan on visiting us again. Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews