We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and convenient but glad I only spent one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It was a convenient walk to the ferry, restaurants, and shopping. I only stayed there one night but they actually tried to give me a room with shared bathroom although I paid for room with a private bathroom. It was very small and the beds were old and rolled easily. The staff wasn’t that helpful. I had them hold my luggage but it was just in a room where people has access with no indication security system to ensure someone would just pick up their own luggage. Close to the city bus stop to get to airport easily.

Room Tip: Don’t stay longer than 1 night if you can help it
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Eh Moo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Booked for one night in a single room and requested a quite room on booking as I was up in Auckland on business. The room was quite noisy though from the kitchen exhaust and air con units below, however, the front desk staff were excellent at sorting out another room for me, their very prompt and the excellent customer service really came through. They upgraded me to a twin room with shower and also sorted out a taxi. I would recommend to others and i will be booking to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room on the park view side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MrsRecyclingNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Great location in Auckland city center. 20-25 minutes walk to harbor. Happy we got early check in after flying all night from California. Hot showers, good lighting and refrigerator in our room as unexpected bonus. Room 165 was quiet and faced park behind hotel. Book exchange available in lobby.
Reasonably priced for 129 NZD/night for budget hotel with bathroom ensuite recommended by Frommer's. Continental breakfast not included and not so good as I'd hoped for 15 NZD. Best parts were coffee machine that made individual coffee drinks, muesli cereal and bananas. Bread was not fresh, just sliced store bought white and wheat bread. No fresh pastries. All in all a good stay. Many restaurants nearby especially Asian ones.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hi Bruce


Thank you for taking the time to review your hotel experience. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for your business and hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Best Regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

old hotel away from the street, 15 minutes walk to the city centre. bus stop is just across the road which is very convenient if you use bus going back to the airport. several Asian restaurant nearby. room is small and expensive restaurant. stayed last week September to October 2016

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank villasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hi there

Thank you for reviewing your hotel experience, we are pleased to have met your expectations. We thank you for your patronage and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

It's convenient since it is located at Upper Queen Street which is close to the busiest shopping street (Queen St). There are some Asian restaurants nearby which open slightly later than others until 10 pm perhaps. Skybus (airport to city bus) also stops just outside of the hotel.
However, the hotel is old, very old that needed to be upgraded, the lift especially.
The room was small. Soundproof needed to be enhanced. Shower needed to be upgraded to be more consistent in the hot and cold water supply.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wai Hoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwihotel411, Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi there


Thank you for taking the time to place a review on your hotel experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we thank you kindly for the feedback you have given us. We are in the process of renovating the hotel for more guest comfort.


Kind Regards


Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
2.3 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
2.4 km away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
101 reviews
0.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#33 of 66 in Auckland Central
225 reviews
0.7 km away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 66 in Auckland Central
346 reviews
0.6 km away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: ₹ 2,966 - ₹ 5,932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Auckland's Queen Street, we offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city. With free amenities such as wi-fi, luggage storage and 24/7 reception our hotel is ideal for both individual travelers and groups seeking location and value for money. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance and we are on the main bus stop routes for the Auckland City Link and Airport Skybus. With an onsite bar & restaurant and handy travel and information desk, the Kiwi International Hotel is perfect for the budget conscious traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing