We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
192
145
27
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
145
27
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorvue restaurantgreat locationcustoms streetspacious showerocean viewstreet shoppingskybus stopaccor membersky busjunior suiterooftop barnice hotelsky towerqueen streetthe bed was super comfortablewalking distance
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights back in March.
The hotel is in a great location with friendly staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Some look over the quay, whereas as some look over the road - these rooms seem to be quite noisy. The only issue I had was the wifi, it would continuously drop out and was quite slow which made doing work in the evening a little more frustrating than it should have been.
I'd definitely stay here again and try and get a room overlooking the quay for sure!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure A, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Charlotte,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us! I am so glad to read that you had a comfortable stay and the cleanness of our guest room was a highlight of your experience with us. The harbour view rooms are indeed amazing and the stunning view is unbeatable, i would recommend you to book one of those for your next stay.
I am terribly sorry for the issue you had with the WiFi and for the noise you experienced during your stay.Please if you plan to stay with us in the near future, do not hesitate to inform our team of story tellers about your needs with the WiFi. They will be more than happy to assist you.

Once again,Charlotte, thank you for your precious time and please come back to stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Auckland!

Ciao,
Carla Bencivenga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Good central location but room was too small & noisy due to St. Patty's day and road work going on next to hotel. Maybe after the road work is done it would be better. Good location to see things in Auckland. Quite a few restaurants within 10 minute or so walk.

Wi-fi didn't work on our computer and their staff tried to work on it but couldn't make it work. Could get wi-fi on phone.

Qantas lost one piece of luggage and took 2 days to get from airport. Qantas blamed the hotel saying they were told we were not staying there by front desk. Doesn't make much sense since we told Qantas we were staying there and told the hotel to be expecting our luggage. But when we talked to the front desk they were not real helpful so not sure who was at fault.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from lower floor rooms and on the side by the McDonalds.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 666dennist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure A, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear 666dennist,

Thank you for your feedback and for highlighting our central location, within walking distance to so many attractions in the city.We have many room types of different sizes so i am assuming yours was our entree level room, for your next stay i would recommend you to contact our Reservations team, they will be more than happy to assist you and suggest you a room which better suites your needs.
I am terribly sorry for the noise you experienced during your stay,please accept my apologies.

As i am unable to tell from TripAdvisor which guest has left a review, i would be grateful if you could email me on h1721-dm5@accor.com, so that i can investigate further your comment regarding the luggage.

Once again, thank you for your precious time and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Ciao,
Carla Bencivenga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

I stayed here for a weekend helping out for the master's games in May 2017. I found the hotel excellent. The location and views were great, you could see right out on to the harbour. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, breakfast was very nice with a huge choice, staff were very friendly. Close by were many options for eating out. A very nice place to stay - I loved it :)

Stayed: May 2017
Thank tsubasani237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure A, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear tsubasani237,

Thank you very much for awarding us with a five stars review!
It is fantastic to read that our central location and stunning views were the highlights of your Auckland's stay!

Please come back to stay with us again if your travels bring you back to this amazing city.

Ciao,
Carla Bencivenga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

A very friendly team of people at this hotel, comfortable and clean rooms with a nice view of the Auckland skyline too.

A good location downtown made it easy to explore and catch the ferry also - would return if in Auckland in future.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AndrewR5014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure A, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Andrrew,

What a great pleasure to read your amazing feedback! Thank you for making our day!
I am so glad to read that you had an excellent experience at the Grand Mercure and that our dedicated team of story tellers were so friendly, i am very fortunate to work with such a great team. I will make sure to share with them your kind words.

Please Andrew, come back to stay with us if your travels bring you back to Auckland!

Ciao,
Carla Bencivenga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Night away with a girl friend. Location was excellent, walking distance to the viaduct, pubs,bars and food. Close to the ferry. Lovely staff, excellent hotel. Will stay again next time I visit Auckland.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 788ellenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure A, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear 788ellenn,

Thank you very much for awarding us with your amazing five stars review! I am delighted to read that our central location worked out perfectly for your stay with us and that our dedicated team of story tellers well looked after you.

Once again, thank you for your precious time and please come back to stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Auckland!

Ciao,
Carla Bencivenga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews