We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible, best meal we have ever had”
Review of SidArt

SidArt
Ranked #2 of 2,305 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 50 - US$ 100
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: SIDART Restaurant is an award winning fine dining restaurant located in the Three Lamps Plaza, 283 Ponsonby Road, Ponsonby, Auckland. We are open Tuesday to Saturday for dinner from 6pm and Friday's for lunch. We are closed on Sundays and Mondays.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Incredible, best meal we have ever had”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I tried the tasting menu, and we are so glad we did. They have other 4 course or a la carte options, but I would really recommend trying the 10 small course tasting menu for this restaurant - you will be amazed that all 10 courses are incredibly delicious, inventive, and beautifully presented.

We loved that they used fairly "normal" ingredients, too. We have reviewed the menus of some other high-end restaurants of this very inventive/artistic type and have been turned off by some of the really weird and unappealing tasting menu choices.

It is a small, intimate place and with very attentive service and you won't be rushed through the meal. There is a great view of downtown Auckland if you score the table by the window.

This was hands down the best restaurant experience we have ever had.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    75
    28
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just displaced a Provence restaurant as best-lunch-ever”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Taxi to the airport at 4:30 Friday...what to do for last lunch in Auckland? Why, Sid's gorgeous 5 course lunch, for sure. Table by the balcony has a fab view if you can take your eyes off the delights at the table. The menu apparently varies but if ours was representative- why not? - trust Sid, you can't miss. Even tho we're in Toronto Canada, we'll be regulars as much as possible...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hidden jewel in Ponsonby”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Excellent dinner, the amuse-bouche (trevally tartare with baby watercress, cristallized with liquid nitrogen at the table) was surprising and everything else was brilliant. Special mention for the Roquefort cheesecake. The dining room gets stiffingly hot after a while, this is something that can definitely be improved.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank max_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An outstanding secret”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I can't recall in Auckland such exquisite and imaginative presentation. Liquid nitrogen on shredded lettuce? Bring it on. Congratulations Sidart!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“oh gone to heaven”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Wow...visually amazing - food sensations....you just gotta treat yourselves..mind blowing...

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mwingaSc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SidArt also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to SidArt? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing