We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tapas, Lamb and wine, a piece of Spain here in Auckland”

Madriz Spanish Restaurant & Tapas Bar
Ranked #23 of 2,481 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 27
Description: We're bringing the experience of an authentic Madrid Tapas Bar to the heart of Auckland with Spanish national products every day. Taste the best Pintxos, Paellas, Salads, Slow Cook Roast Lamb & More... Share with family or friends the great taste of true Mediterranean cuisine.
Restaurant details
Description: We're bringing the experience of an authentic Madrid Tapas Bar to the heart of Auckland with Spanish national products every day. Taste the best Pintxos, Paellas, Salads, Slow Cook Roast Lamb & More... Share with family or friends the great taste of true Mediterranean cuisine.
Reviewed 11 June 2018

I came here to have some tapas and I was surprised about the quality of the ingredients, great atmosphere and very affordable

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rodrigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 48 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

I went last night with two of my friends as this places was recommended to us and in fact it didn't dissapointed.
Food was really nice and wines and beers really well priced!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank JorgeS6168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We were traveling around New Zealand for about two weeks and we wanted to eat something different. Madriz was a delicious experience. We had a perfect seafood paella but it was the slow roasted leg of lamb which was the star entree. It was tasty and so tender that it fell off the bone. Everyone in our party of 6 agreed that this was the best lamb we were ever served and The service was very good.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank mpwong0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lumbreras85, General Manager at Madriz Spanish Restaurant & Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thanks for Taking time to leave a review, hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

My wife and I came here for a quick dinner as we were staying a few blocks away. The bar is quite small but there is nice seating just around the corner from it, which suited us well - after ordering drinks at the bar we were seated there. Very friendly service, which really made eating here a delight!

The menu is tapas based which is fun - priced from $5 to $25ish. Three + dessert worked well for two people, so good value for money. There are also some large share items, and I noticed some slow cooked dishes where you needed to call the day before and book in advance (not necessary for a regular meal, but they did sound nice).

The actual food... incredible. Every dish we ordered was great. The lamb, prawns, roast veges - all highly recommended. Wait staff and chef really were Spanish, and the food seemed to be too. It really was delicious. Portion sizes were just right. My wife ordered a sangria to drink (although not on the menu they made by the glass - menu only has pitchers). She thinks it was the best sangria she’s ever tried, so she got another.

We came back several nights later when we were back in Auckland. Equally good experience. I don’t usually write trip advisor reviews but I think this place deserves it! Definitely worth checking out.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank JordanS3033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lumbreras85, General Manager at Madriz Spanish Restaurant & Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thanks for Taking time to leave a review, hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Genuine tapas from a hole in the wall or dining out in the alley way. Great service, lovely red wine and delicious food

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UKkiwiLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madriz Spanish Restaurant & Tapas Bar also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Madriz Spanish Restaurant & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing