We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheery hostel, great location, great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BK Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BK Hostel
Ranked #50 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheery hostel, great location, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

All in all a very pleasant and comfortable stay combine with great location to make this excellent value for money. The communal spaces, including a great lounge, gives this place a surprisingly homely feel, considering the central location building. I stayed for 3 nights and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkijbmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    19
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
20
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed in this hostel for two nights. The location is ok. Could be better but if you don't mind walking, the city is in your reach.

The hostel is a bit worn down but ok, the staff are helpful and nice and prepared to keep the office open if you're arriving late. The kitchen is (as they attend to be) a little bit messy and the pots and pans have seen their best days ages ago.

Our room (219) was very basic but it smelled like something had died there recently. The room was also very noisy as it was located near downstairs club or pub that played dancemusic all night and I mean ALL night! Have seen more affordable and better hostels than this one.

Wi-fi was also missing. Luckily we found one in a really nice cafe near by called Alleluya. So if you're staying in this hostel and enjoy a good cup of europeanly made cofee and need wi-fi, it's the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanneSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed here for two weeks and began filling itchy at night

One night I noticed two bed bugs

I complained to the owners and they said they wanted to see proof. "be a man catch them and show me"

I was a little disgusted with how they treated this. wasn't making any of this up

the hostel is otherwise clean but the owner didn't really care that I had bed bugs. My sheets were changed but that still didn't really solve the problem

thankfully I did not bring any back home!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank x y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euntaek Y, Owner at BK Hostel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
We have not had, nor do we currently have, bed bugs in BK Hostel. We periodically perform preventative pest control in every room and clean the common areas daily. Our friendly staff is always willing to help should any guest have a problem during the stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed in this hostel in the New Zealand summer of last year.What a wonderful place to stay!The location is absolutely perfect-so central to all the amenities of Auckland city,like restaurants,cafes,shops etc!The hostel itself is immaculately clean,something which I value highly wherever I stay.They have kitchens and a large lounge where u can view some of their many dvds etc.The room rates really impressed me as well.U really get great value for money here and the rooms are so lovely!They have a LIFT,so no need to struggle with your suitcase upstairs either!All in all one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in!Wonderful for making friends too!

Room Tip: All rooms are immaculate!I loved the twin room with window though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

I stayed for 3 nights at bk hostel. The staff is very nice and helpful concerning your self organization. I didn't meet a crack on transport possibilities, local tipps for day trips, etc., though.
The rooms and beds are rather small, clean and sufficient. Also bathrooms and showers are kept very clean.
The internet (tomizone hotspots on the street) only works on the street side, which on the weekends gets very noisy throughout the night. I took a room on the opposite side and skyped from the common social areas.
There is a kitchen, you can always cook, make tea, etc.
The "living room" is a jewel, terribly comfortable - you don't even want to leave the room and see the city. It's got a pool table, TV and DVDs, games, books.
Around the hostel, there are super nice cafes, restaurants, some convenience stores. Directly opposite, there is a club - I heard the bass when I got up at 7 on a Sunday morning ;) I'd say, it's all taken care of an bk is a save bet - even though other hostels are surely further in city center or even offer their own internet supply. It's costly everywhere, though. NZ is a very expensive country and from this regard, I guess, the price is reasonable.
I would definately go back, because I prefer not to stay in the city center (5 min walk), I enjoyed the living room, and there are the best cafes around.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bjocht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 km away
K Road City Travelers Hostel
K Road City Travelers Hostel
#59 of 107 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 km away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#13 of 107 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.2 km away
Newton Lodge
Newton Lodge
#51 of 107 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 107 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.3 km away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#22 of 107 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.1 km away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BK Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BK Hostel

Property: BK Hostel
Address: 3 Mercury Lane, Auckland ., New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,440 - ₹ 3,207
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BK Hostel!Located in the centre of Auckland, major sights like Queen Street, the Aotea Square, the Civic Theatre, many parks and gardens and the Waterfront are only a few minutes walk away. Having cafes, bars, restaurants, post shops and banks close by daily jobs can easily be done from here.Rebuilt in 2003, our hostel offers a total of 49 rooms with most of them having large windows. Whether you are a backpacker looking for a budget dorm bed or prefer a bit more privacy in a single room we can find the right thing for you. We also offer weekly rates for those who want to experience Auckland for longer than just a few days. All our beds are freshly made providing linen, sheets, a duvet and a pillow as well as good quality mattresses for our single and queen-size beds. Every room is regularly cleaned and equipped with closets. With the exception of the dorm rooms all our rooms are also equipped with a desk and a chair making your stay as convenient as possible. The two kitchens are spacious and clean and equipped with everything to store, cook and enjoy your food. Both of them provide a separate tap for filtered water as well as an unlimited access to hot water. Our bathrooms provide separate, clean, self-contained shower cabins and toilets. If you do not feel like getting into Auckland’s nightlife make yourself comfortable in our spacious lounge. You can watch TV or a movie out of our DVD library or have a game of pool with your mates.Other features of our facility are:* Very safe (Fire safety & High tech security camera approved)* Friendly helpful staff* Coin operated laundry* Luggage storage (short & long term storage available) – bikes, bags,surfboard…* Towels, iron, hair dryer, fans, scale, adaptor etc available for hire.* Internet/Wi-Fi available* Pay phone* 24 hour access with a card key provided* Visa, Master Card, Eftpos available* Link bus route* Airport transport on arrangement or from the close by bus stop of the AirBus ExpressEnjoy your stay in Auckland! :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your BK Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BK Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing