We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service a bit disorganised, but meal ok”
Review of Lone Star Westgate

Lone Star Westgate
Ranked #695 of 2,468 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Price range: US$ 13 - US$ 26
Description: What better way to relax in the 'Wild West' than to come on in and join us at Lone Star Westgate. Enjoy the delicious hearty dishes and great service that Lone Stars are renowned for. As local people ourselves, we take pride in our guests having a great night out. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Restaurant details
Description: What better way to relax in the 'Wild West' than to come on in and join us at Lone Star Westgate. Enjoy the delicious hearty dishes and great service that Lone Stars are renowned for. As local people ourselves, we take pride in our guests having a great night out. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Reviewed 4 August 2018

Went with a sizeable group. Staff were friendly. The dip starter had way too many tortilla chips, but the dip itself was lovely. It's customary to serve all the mains at once, but this custom hasn't got to Westgate yet. Most enjoyed their meals. The payment process was very organised. The menu was a large size which made reading the options easy.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kiwiseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lonestar25, Owner at Lone Star Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Hi there. Thanks very much for dining with it at Westgate with your large group. We appreciate this and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals and service. We apologise that your meals did not come all at once which is obviously an error on our part and we are very sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused. Thanks again and have a terrific week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2018

We've been to Lone Star about 5 times now, but always with different people for different occasions and so far, Lone Star has never disappointed. The food was always really good and staff is very friendly, attentive and helpful. Even on a busy night you get seated quite quickly, but getting your food just takes a wee while.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FranziskaS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lonestar25, Owner at Lone Star Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Hi there. Thanks so much for coming along to Lone Star 5 times. That is really awesome. We love hearing that you enjoy it and keep coming back. We really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Food was great, the Dixie chicken was really good, Cajun chicken was good too, we shared.
Ginny our waitress was really good, friendly and helpful always with a smile. She made our visit even better.
The lady’s got a complimentary glass of champagne when we arrived which was a nice start & a nice touch.
Ginny great stuff you are awesome!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Duane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lonestar25, Owner at Lone Star Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Hi there Duane. Thanks very much for coming along to dine with us on Mother's Day and for your lovely feedback about Ginny. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

WAs visiting from Australia and organised to have my birthday there as most of our friends live local.
The place was packed but we were set up in a separate room from the restaurant which was a bit quieter. Service was great and drinks were organised as soon as we sat down. Dinner orders were taken quickly and although we had to wait a while for our meals it was worth it. The waitress made sure the drinks kept coming while everyone was waiting.
A very pleasant meal and a great night with friends to remember.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lonestar25, Owner at Lone Star Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Hi there Carlene. That is great to hear that you chose to have your 'Kiwi Birthday' with us at Lone Star. Thanks so much for coming along to celebrate and for your lovely feedback. We hope you have an enjoyable rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Had to wait a little. Busy night and we had not reserved. Still seated within about 5 minutes. Waitress was extremely helpful and looked after us well. Food was great. I barely managed to 9 spare ribs. 4 others had all different meals and enjoyed them all. Big portions. It was great.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank BruceWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lonestar25, Owner at Lone Star Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi there Bruce. Thanks for dining with us. We were pleased to hear that you had a good night and we look forward to seeing you again. Try the 12 ribs next time and it gives you yummy left-overs to take away for the next day. Thanks again and have a great week:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lone Star Westgate also viewed

Auckland, North Island
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Lone Star Westgate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing